We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of One Love Jamaican Restaurant - CLOSED

One Love Jamaican Restaurant
1168 Dellwood, Waynesville, NC 28745
828-944-0192
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Had dinner at One Love tonight. It was great! Had the Jerk chicken with a salad and steamed cabbage. The chicken was nice and spicy but not overpowering. Their cornbread is moist and tasty too.
Really enjoyed it and will go back soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    9
    4
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Antioch, Tennessee, United States
1 review
“great food at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I ate there sunday with a friend of mine from Asheville, I had the stew pork and it was the best thing I have ever tasted. My friend had the curry chicken which also looked delicious. And if that wasn't good enough, the bill was less than $25 drinks included.
I highly recommend this new restaurant in Waynesville to anyone who is looking for great food at a great price.
we had no wait at all as the food came in 15mins. to speak to previous comments.
The restaurant has just opened a few weeks ago so it looks like they ironed out any problems they may have had in the beginning.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This restaurant is not in canton, nc”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The physical address is correct, but it is located in Waynesville, N C. Please give them a chance since their move. Really great food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggie valley, nc
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Sunday after church and they were packed. Waitress didn't know what dressings they had. We were there 1 and 1/2 hours before we got our food. Food was decent at best. $40 for 3 lunch entrees and one sweet tea. This was our first and last visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelley W, Partner at One Love Jamaican Restaurant, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback ~ we are working hard to address the issues you listed here and on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie Valley, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One Love May Have A Short Stay In Waynesville”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We loved the food, service, and family atmosphere at the former location. We have been to the new location in Waynesville twice now and it was not a good experience. Forget the extreme heat inside the restaurant, a staff that seems not to have a clue,

Took forever to get served each visit. An hour and 10 minutes to get served.

The mac and cheese was the worst I have ever had. Looked like cheese wiz! The cabbage was a real disappointment, not what I have had in the islands, and the curry chicken was undercooked and sparse at best.

I am not sure what happened when they moved but it is a disaster sadly.......

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed One Love Jamaican Restaurant also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One Love Jamaican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.