We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious salad & good coffee - great place for breakfast & lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Bakery Cafe

City Bakery Cafe
18 N Main St, Waynesville, NC
828.452.3881
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 97 Restaurants in Waynesville
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious salad & good coffee - great place for breakfast & lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I was in town for a conference, and I ate here twice - breakfast/coffee and lunch. The coffee was REALLY good and I enjoyed my quiche, although I would have rather eaten a crustless quiche. There weren't many good options for low carb diets, at least for breakfast.....I went with the quiche and it had a potato "crust" which was okay, but not low carb.
Lunch was MUCH better for my style of eating, and I had the Sesame Chicken Salad with honey mustard and balsamic vinaigrette. I added goat cheese to my salad, which was a great choice! I would certainly eat here again, for lunch at least, or stop by for a coffee when I'm in town again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian D, General Manager at City Bakery Cafe, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thanks for the feedback! We're glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

The City Bakery Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    37
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, AL
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Very Good Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

My lunch would tend to be closer to a 5 than 4, but I knocked one off for the fairly common (3 times) tendency to lose a bagel order when you ask for cream cheese in the morning. I really like the "bagels", but they are far from real bagels, but they are pretty tasty. The Reuben panini was outstanding as was my wife's Goat Cheese Evo panini.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian D, General Manager at City Bakery Cafe, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thanks for the review! We apologize for the bagel errors, but we are so glad you enjoyed it!

Sincerely,

The City Bakery Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We were getting out of our car in downtown Waynesville, NC and a woman literally stopped us and said if we were looking for a place to eat to be sure and try the City Bakey Cafe. She was right. It was super. We grabbed sandwiches made on their homemade bread and headed to the back porch to eat. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We sat out on the porch, talked to other patrons and had a great time. Food was excellent. Wide variety of baked goods and sandwiches.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian D, General Manager at City Bakery Cafe, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thanks for the review!

So glad you enjoyed it! Please come back and see us on your next visit!

Sincerely,

The City Bakery Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Coffee, Wonderful Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Love this local/regional bakery as there are two in Asheville, but the one in Waynesville is equally good! If you desire local baked pastries, excellent scallion, cheddar biscuits with egg, bacon and cheese or one of my favorites their yogurt fruit parfait with their granola or cinnamon rolls...need I go on...try City Bakery and their lunch menu is not your usual lunch sandwich either.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian D, General Manager at City Bakery Cafe, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thanks for the great review! We are so very pleased to hear that you enjoy dining with us! Please come back and see us again soon!


Sincerely,

The City Bakery Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherokee, North Carolina
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great bread and food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

If bread makes the sandwich then City Bakery has got it down. We were there for lunch. We had the Italian Chicken Sandwich. Chicken, pesto, mozzarella and the bread was to die for. Best flavors I've had in a while. We also tried their Cous Cous salad. Very good. It's my husband's new favorite sandwich and hangout place. They have WiFi and a wide variety of places to sit, the deck outside, cozy by the window where you can see the street, or the privacy of a booth. Great sandwiches, good service! I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian D, General Manager at City Bakery Cafe, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thanks so much for the review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience at City Bakery!

Please come back and see us soon!

Sincerely,

The City Bakery Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Bakery Cafe also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to City Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Bakery Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.