We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Bakery Cafe

City Bakery Cafe
18 N Main St, Waynesville, NC 28786
+1 828-452-3881
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 100 Restaurants in Waynesville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Waynesville’s downtown has that quint, small-town, friendliness of days gone by. If you are walking and shopping the street City Bakery is definitely worth a stop. We had a fantastic breakfast. Their bagels are made in-house and you can really taste the freshness. The bagels have a light, airy interior with a thin, chewy crust that a bagel should have. The croissants are light, fluffy and buttery. The chocolate croissant tastes like they are made with dark, not-too-sweet European chocolate. My husband and daughter loved the lightly smoked fresh mountain trout. The trout was served with a bagel, cream cheese, onions and carpers, just like you get with lox orders. The thumbprint cookies were made with a crumbly pecan shortcake base and a local jam. It was the best thumbprint cookie I have ever had. We bought 2 baguettes to go and they too were expertly crafted. The service is fast casual. The décor is a trendy remodel of an old storefront. The baked goods are obviously created by an expert baker. We really enjoyed this tasty, relaxing treat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    41
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maggie Valley, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“New Fav: Shot of expresso in my Chai Tea... hot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Enjoyed a BLT with Avocado and a cup of Chai with a shot of espresso. Fun place to eat when downtown and hungry.. I also eat in Asheville on Charlotte Street location.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Cafe experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I love the menu choices at City Bakery...great baked goods, yummy salads and sandwiches...and don't miss the Chai Freeze; it's LOADED with rich chai flavors to enjoy!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglasville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“City Bakery Cafe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The food is good here but I thought the bakery selections were limited. On our first visit the staff was very friendly (this visit was just a "look and see what's here" visit) but when we went back the following day to eat lunch the staff wasn't particularly warm and fuzzy. My meal was good and my husband said his meal was good also. We would go back but I was a little disappointed after reading all the "excellent" reviews - for me it just rates an "average".

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch or baked goods.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Really wonderful food. Ate on the patio with mountain view. Exceptional Sesame chicken salad. Service is friendly. Laid back but food is thoughtful, inventive and very good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Bakery Cafe also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to City Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Bakery Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.