We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Classic Wine Seller

The Classic Wine Seller
20 Church Street, Waynesville, NC 28786
+1 828-452-6000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 102 Restaurants in Waynesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Tapas, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Classic Wineseller is a retail wine and craft beer shop that opens its full restaurant on Friday and Saturday evenings with LIVE music. Our location is underground and stays cool year around.
Jefferson, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cozy Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This restaurant is a wine cellar with a large variety of wines. We attended on "Italian Night" and had a wonderful 4 course dinner and some excellent wine. The cheese selection is also nice. You must try the locally made goat cheese...spectacular! There was also a wonderful trio of musicians who played Italian music. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and plan to return,

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicWineseller, Owner at The Classic Wine Seller, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments. And yes, that local goat cheese is the most delicious we've found--and we've sampled a lot. We buy as much as the "girls" can produce. Join us again soon for great wine, food, and music!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    13
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great place to buy and taste wine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Upscale wine shop with extensive selection. Owners very knowledgeable. Special dinners and music on premises.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicWineseller, Owner at The Classic Wine Seller, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We love what we do and we appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Intimate Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This 'underground' spot was a real surprise to find in Waynesville, NC. An excellent and large array of wine from all over the world, the atmosphere is very European Bistro.. The best was the Jazz Session event this year. Good food, good fun. You'll like it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicWineseller, Owner at The Classic Wine Seller, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We agree with your comment---but we'll admit, we're partial! In 2013 we added a Steinway piano to our underground environs and more live jazz, including a Summer Jazz Fest and our second annual Fall for Jazz series. Come Share Our Passion: Wine, Beer, Food, and LIVE Music!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLYDE
Level Contributor
82 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Evening Out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This quaint little spot offers a huge variety of wines at a very reasonable cost; also the only place in town with tapas. They have music on Fridays (at least once a month...not sure of schedule), which made for a wonderful evening out with a friend. Definitely recommend!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicWineseller, Owner at The Classic Wine Seller, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your visit. In June 2013 we began offering live music every Friday and Saturday night! Come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This store had a great selection of wines and spirits, including gluten-free beer. A little pub in the back area made the visit unique and fun. Good food, good atmosphere, friendly service! Will go back, for sure.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicWineseller, Owner at The Classic Wine Seller, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you! We hope you'll return again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Classic Wine Seller also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to The Classic Wine Seller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Classic Wine Seller, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.