We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to buy and taste wine.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Classic Wineseller

The Classic Wineseller
20 Church Street, Waynesville, NC 28786
+1 828-452-6000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 105 Restaurants in Waynesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Classic Wineseller is a retail wine and craft beer shop that is open Tuesday through Saturday. The restaurant is open Wednesday through Saturday evenings. Enjoy LIVE music on Friday and Saturday evenings. Our location is underground and stays cool year around. A light jacket or sweater is suggested.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great place to buy and taste wine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Upscale wine shop with extensive selection. Owners very knowledgeable. Special dinners and music on premises.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mary frances r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicWineseller, Owner at The Classic Wineseller, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Intimate Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This 'underground' spot was a real surprise to find in Waynesville, NC. An excellent and large array of wine from all over the world, the atmosphere is very European Bistro.. The best was the Jazz Session event this year. Good food, good fun. You'll like it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicWineseller, Owner at The Classic Wineseller, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We agree with your comment---but we'll admit, we're partial! In 2013 we added a Steinway piano to our underground environs and more live jazz, including a Summer Jazz Fest and our second annual Fall for Jazz series. Come Share Our Passion: Wine, Beer, Food, and LIVE Music!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLYDE
Level Contributor
94 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Evening Out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This quaint little spot offers a huge variety of wines at a very reasonable cost; also the only place in town with tapas. They have music on Fridays (at least once a month...not sure of schedule), which made for a wonderful evening out with a friend. Definitely recommend!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaPhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicWineseller, Owner at The Classic Wineseller, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your visit. In June 2013 we began offering live music every Friday and Saturday night! Come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This store had a great selection of wines and spirits, including gluten-free beer. A little pub in the back area made the visit unique and fun. Good food, good atmosphere, friendly service! Will go back, for sure.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank kristensoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicWineseller, Owner at The Classic Wineseller, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you! We hope you'll return again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
181 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Wine Cellar/Tapas Restaurant/Entertainment Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

The Classic Wine Seller has a huge selection of wines. The shop is located on Church Street, a half block from the intersection of Church and Main St. in Waynesville, NC. Richard, the owner, is a great host, and the bar-tender, usually Megan, is prompt and courteous. The Classic Wine Seller is not only an extensive wine shop, but has events such as Wines on Wednesdays (WOW), and serves Tapas style food Wednesday thru Saturday. The shop also has a seating area, which accomodates about 25-30 people. Most Wednesdays is a specific type wine tasting with snacks to accompany, and on most Fridays and some Saturdays, the shop offers entertainment and tapas dinner, with the entertainment usually consisting of small jazz groups, local musicians, bluegrass, and a variety of just easy listening music. It is a great, intimate venue to enjoy a bottle of wine among friends, have a nice dinner at a very reasonable price, and enjoy the entertainment. Richard also has numerous select bottled beers, most of which are from NC breweries and very good.

Check out the shop's website for future entertainment, wine tastings, and special events Richard hosts. It is: http://classicwineseller.com/ . My wife and I attend the Friday night entertainments and have a tapas-style dinner frequently. Much of the food that Richard provides is his own recipes and are very good. We have met a lot of very nice people who were visiting from out of town and chose to make the Classic Wine Seller event a night out at a very reasonable price. During wamer months, the entertainment moves outdoors behind and to the side of the Wine Seller buiding in a courtyard.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gdt655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicWineseller, Owner at The Classic Wineseller, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback and comments for folks to read! We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Classic Wineseller also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Classic Wineseller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing