We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pisgah Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Waynesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pisgah Inn
Save
You added Pisgah Inn to your Saves list
Milepost 408.6, Blue Ridge Pkwy., Waynesville, NC 28786   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We have been traveling the Blue Ridge Parkway for over 30 years on almost an annual basis. Most trips are 7-10 days end-to-end, and we always make Pisgah Inn our end "base of operations" before heading back north. It is not a luxury resort so newcomers should not be expecting it to be so. But it is always clean and comfortable, and the folks are always warm and friendly. The restaurant is the best of all parkway accommodations along the entire length (the fried green tomatoes, whether basic or their specialty, are delectable!!) Recent renovations of one of the buildings are quite nice, and it would be nice if the other buildings could be done as well. We've been here for family travel, for just quick getaways, and to make for special family/friend reunions … we've been here through all types of weather … and we've been here when it's been unbelievably quiet and when it's been quite busy! But we've never been disappointed, and often we've been blessed with fun things like wild storms followed by incredible rainbows, bear sightings, skunk families, and fog so thick you couldn't see more than a few feet in front of you! We consider it all part of the adventure, and will continue to stay here as long as the Inn remains operational. Scuttlebutt says that there is concern over contract renewal … the Parkway has already lost so many of its "landmark" places to eat and to stay over the past few years, and it would be beyond sad to think we could lose Pisgah Inn as well. It is a wonderful place to relax and to renew one's spirit … so many stories over the years!!

Room Tip: The Tree Tops building has recently been renovated and are a little nicer than the other building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    92
    18
    11
    8
See reviews for
49
162
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

OK, I'd like to live here. If they'd give me a job at the hotel desk, in the restaurant or in the gift shop, I'd be a happy man. My wife and I both agreed we'd like to come back sometime when we could spend more than one night, and just relax for a while. The kind of place you should just enjoy and not plan on doing anything else than just sitting on the balcony or in the restaurant enjoying the amazing views. It's older so if you're looking for fancy then you'll be disappointed, but it was everything we needed. Oh, and bring a jacket! We were there July 3rd and it was COLD!

Room Tip: I'd reserve an upstairs room. It looked to me like the views would not be as good from a downsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard NC
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We actually live nearby and eat at the restaurant frequently. A great place to take guest visiting our wonderful mountains. Breakfast, lunch or dinner - food and service is always great and looking out over the mountains is awesome. Decided to spend our anniversary there this year and were fortunate to reserve a room about a month in advance. We got a king room in the Tree Tops. Love it! - clean, comfortable room with private balcony and of course, the best mountain views. They were very busy, but the staff were always courteous and polite. After a wonderful evening meal, we sat on the balcony and watched the wildlife (birds, bunnies, chipmunks) and remnants of the sunset. Had not expected the complimentary breakfast. Special menu, but very good. Even though we were there in July, it was CHILLY. Recommend jackets any time you visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Rooms are very clean and the view is outstanding. The staff is super friendly.
Just don't expect it to be quiet. It sits on a very quiet ridge, however the quietness is often interrupted by the people talking loudly, slamming doors and dragging their luggage down the metal stairs. The balconies in the middle building carry noise very easily from other rooms.
It's great to have the windows open in the room to let the mountain air flow in, but I had to close them to block the noise from other folks. I didn't care to hear the phone conversations of a car salesman or every new arriver's wow exclamations as they opened their balcony door.
The ceiling fan in the room is very nice, there is no AC. Not really any need for it if you open the windows. There is a small refrigerator, but no microwave which would be very handy at this location.

Room Tip: Treetops building is preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Return trip to the Pisgah for our anniversary. King room in the Tree Tops building, very clean, comfortable bed, and amazing views from the balcony. Dinner in the restaurant was very good, absolutely loved the sweet corn fritters and the blackberry cobbler. Free breakfast for the hotel guests was also very good, several great selections to choose from.

The proximity of the Pisgah Inn to the Blue Ridge Parkway is perfect-so close to so many great trails, hikes, and views!

To the family that was on the floor above our room, your children jumping off the bed and slamming doors at 1am in the morning was unacceptable. We informed the front office staff the morning we checked out, they were very apologetic and accommodating to our feedback.

If you are looking to enjoy the Blue Ridge Parkway, book a night or two at the Pisgah Inn, it is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains.

Room Tip: Every room has an amazing view, we prefer the Tree Tops building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We went to the Pisgah Inn for its location and were not disappointed in anything: views are spectacular; food is tasty and southern (mmm); rooms were clean and amply sized; the gift shop was full of handcrafted items, nice books and local souvenirs. Restaurant service was friendly and generally fast enough, but their kitchen was a bit slow. There are several nice hiking trails that start from your door step. Take the one to the top Mt. Pisgah itself. The 360 degree views from the top are worth the time (if you won't mind the TV tower in the way).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We had an excellent experience at the Pisgah Inn. The room had an excellent view and was very clean. The restaurant staff and food was excellent. The bed was comfortable and clean. I just wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pisgah Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pisgah Inn

Address: Milepost 408.6, Blue Ridge Pkwy., Waynesville, NC 28786
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
Pisgah Hotel Waynesville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pisgah Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.