We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pisgah Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pisgah Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Waynesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pisgah Inn
Save
You added Pisgah Inn to your Saves list
Milepost 408.6, Blue Ridge Pkwy., Waynesville, NC 28786   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pisgah Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The Pisgah Inn is situated on a very scenic stretch of the Blue Ridge Parkway. It has a grocery store / laundramat at the front of the property and a full restaurant, that has an amazing selection of food choices from sandwiches and appetizers to a full dinner choice. Breakfast is included with your stay at the Inn. Expect it to be nippy, as the wind never stopped blowing on the front the inn. I should have taken some warmer clothes. Altough the outside of the Inn looks a bit dated, our room and bathroom had been totally renovated. We also had a mini fridge in our room and a balcony with new rockers to sit, relax and take in the view. My only complaint with our stay was that the pillows seemed to be rectangular pieces of foam shoved in a pillow case. If you take your own pillow, you should sleep like a baby.
There are many hiking options within a few miles of the inn. We did the high falls walk at Graveyard Fields,not realizing that it was a 3.2 mile round trip hike to see a little bit of water. We did get some excercise, though and some time to commune with nature. There are not many trees in this valley, though, to see the fall color. We were a little disturbed to see a write up in our local newspaper when we got home about a surplus in black bear encounters off the Blue Ridge Parkway this season - specifically in the Graveyard Fields area. No wonder I kept feeling like I was being watched!
And of course, the drive along the Blue Ridge Parkway is amazing with lots of scenic views and tunnels to go through along the way.

Room Tip: We were in the last building called Tree Top in the last room on the second floor. Very private, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    101
    23
    11
    8
See reviews for
64
193
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This will be my fourth year staying at the Pisgah Inn with a group of friends, doing our best to catch the peak of color in the mountains. The Inn is all about location, with fantastic views of the mountains, easy access to hikes and overlooks on and off the Blue Ridge Parkway, short drive to great restaurants and festivals in Asheville and surrounding areas. This is an older property, but well kept. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and rocking chairs for enjoying the views on your back porch or balcony. Breakfast is included in the rate, and is good. The restaurant is decent; in years past I ate all of our meals in, but this year we actually chose to eat in Asheville most nights for a change. The staff is super friendly. We plan on going every year as long as we can, and I'd encourage anyone looking for a getaway in the mountains to consider the Pisgah Inn. I relish the simplicity and mental break of feeling separated from daily life, and am a hiker, so this place works. If someone is looking for fancy accomodations, is bothered by the sound of the wind blowing (hard, your on the mountain) or overhearing people discuss the latest wildlife spotting, this might not be your place! They do now have wifi, which they didn't have when I first started visiting.

Room Tip: Second floor gets less traffic; I've always stayed in the second building and have had not issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvedere, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

What a great location. Wonderful views from rocking chair on your balcony. Trout & chicken pot pie in the restaurant are great. Service can be slow when they are crowded but worth the wait. Go early & best the crowd.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This property excels in customer service. They strive to please. You can't beat the long range mountain views. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfy. Breakfast was include in the price of the room. All of the food was very good. They serve beer and wine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here two nights. The views are fabulous. The restaurant food was very good; although going there when the tour buses unload at lunch time can be a challenge. The Pisgah Inn operates under a concessions contract with the National Park Service. Frankly, it seems they take advantage of the built-in lack of competition. The motel part is run down and in need of maintenance. In our room there was a wall mounted electric heater in the bathroom sink area that clearly had been non-operative for a long time and was disgustingly dirty. Plumbing fixtures were in need of upgrade and repair. Outside our door the carpeted sidewalk is sunken and the area was constantly wet making it impossible to get into the room without tracking in wet dirt and leaves. They do good business, too bad they can't channel some of the money back into keeping the place decent at a level consistent with the beautiful location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chagrin falls, ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just got back from a North Carolina get away.........what a beautiful state. I traveled with a friend. We set out that day for Asheville but got off track a few times just stopping and seeing new things. We were traveling on the Blue Ridge Parkway, which is absolutely gorgeous and saw an interesting place to stop. The Pisgah Inn....it sits on the edge of a mountain. Each room had a fabulous view of the mountains below. We had a small porch with 2 wooden rockers. There is a great restaurant on the property with a gift shop next door. I wasn't impressed with the gift shop but the restaurant was very nice with huge windows featuring a scenic mountain vista. The restaurant was very busy and they do not take reservations. We went back about 8:00 and got right in. Food was good and the service was great. On the property there is a small general store for incidentals. We loved it and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I think most every room at this place is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir City, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have stayed here several times and I have never left disappointed. The views are amazing, the rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable and my favorite part is the food. The gourmet restaurant has an excellent variety of different food and I have never eaten a bad meal there. But please understand your entertainment options include hiking, biking, sightseeing, and relaxing. That's it. There is a small gift shop and camp store. The staff is great, every staff member spoke to us and asked us if we needed anything. I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Try to book a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
15.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Smoky Mountain Inn
13.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
16.7 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#14 of 59 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 stars 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Brevard
Hampton Inn Brevard
#2 of 2 in Pisgah Forest
4.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
14.5 mi away
Inn on Biltmore Estate
Inn on Biltmore Estate
#1 of 59 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,497 reviews
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pisgah Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pisgah Inn

Address: Milepost 408.6, Blue Ridge Pkwy., Waynesville, NC 28786
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
Pisgah Hotel Waynesville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pisgah Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.