We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“they can make beets and lima beans good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bourbon Barrel Beef & Ale

Bourbon Barrel Beef & Ale
454 Hazelwood Ave, Waynesville, NC 28786-1946
828-452-9191
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 100 Restaurants in Waynesville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: We serve regionally raised antibiotic and hormone-free beef, pork, and chicken. Many of our seasonal vegetables come from local farms,and our fresh fish (never frozen) is harvested from sustainable fisheries. Everything at the Bourbon Barrel is made from scratch.
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“they can make beets and lima beans good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

delicious and fancy! local food and drink are emphasized which is cool, yes? definitely eco-cool to eat locally--so much less fossil fuel used to transport the food. So, we were happy to find such a place after having been thwarted in our efforts to go to a local BBQ place closed down the street. I had trout that had really good veggie mix including several previously shunned items such as beets and lima beans. Steak was delicious too. Service was great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    53
    18
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Meadowview, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The BEST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was probably the best meal I’ve ever had. First the food is absolutely delicious and cooked to perfection, but that’s not the best part. We arrived on a snowy March Monday night while on a trip to Asheville. Instantly we were treated to a kindness and hospitality that frankly is never seen - anywhere. They treated us like old friends, not customers. It really took me by surprise to be quite honest.

My steak was to most perfectly cooked piece of meat I have ever had the pleasure of eating…and I do mean pleasure. Mouth-watering delicious. They also devote their taps to some wonderful local craft beers. Again, it was the best I’ve ever had. If there is a better restaurant in the VA, NC, TN area, I haven’t eaten there.

The people were wonderful, the food was out of this world, and, all-in-all this simple restaurant turned into the highlight of my entire trip.

Not only would I whole-heartedly recommend this restaurant, but I will plan future trips to the area around a few great meals at Bourbon Barrel Beef & Ale.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryson City, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Well worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

PJ Farmer my food rep suggested this place for dinner with friends. We arrived at 4:30 and were told we should have made reservations, especially on the weekend. She graciously found us a table and seated us anyway. Our waitress highly recommended the sirloin. We ordered the fish and chips and the sirloin. Excellent!! The sirloin was cooked perfectly, tender and tasty. The fish was fresh and the beer batter was light and crispy. Great quiet atmosphere and efficient wait staff. We are looking forward to dining here again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryson City, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a new restaurant to try and Bourbon Barrel Beef was recommended by a friends food purveyor. We arrived at 4:30 and were told we should have made reservations, especially on the weekend. She graciously found us a table and seated us anyway. Our waitress highly recommended the sirloin. We ordered the fish and chips and the sirloin. Excellent!! The sirloin was cooked perfectly, tender and tasty. The fish was fresh and the beer batter was light and crispy. Great quiet atmosphere and efficient wait staff. We are looking forward to dining here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A little off the beaten path, but so worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This little restaurant is located in a part of town called Hazelwood, on Hazelwood Ave. Most of the restaurants, taverns, and retail in town are located on Main St so this little gem is a true find. We arrived with a party of six on a busy Friday. Initial impressions were that it was nicely done, the bar was awesome looking done in hammered copper, and everyone seemed to be having a great time. Our table was a very large booth, really cozy. We ordered several appetizers for the table, a roasted red pepper and artichoke dip, fried pickles which were amazing and were told they were made in house. Entrees were delicious. The Sirloin was like none I had ever tried. It was a super thick cut with a bourbon glaze, awesome. We had a great time and I will be back soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bourbon Barrel Beef & Ale also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Bourbon Barrel Beef & Ale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bourbon Barrel Beef & Ale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.