We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where the Locals Eat - Good Food !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clyde's Restaurant

Clyde's Restaurant
2107 South Main Street, Waynesville, NC 28786
(828) 456-9135
Update restaurant details
Ranked #20 of 93 restaurants in Waynesville
Cuisines: American, Diner
Restaurant details
Maryland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Where the Locals Eat - Good Food !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

After a shopping day in Waynesville, we stopped off a the Visitor's Center looking for suggestions on where to eat ! Clyde's was the first place suggested - so we headed down the road and went to Clyde's. Convenient location with friendly service. We were greeted and seated promptly . The diner was warm and inviting. Service was with a smile. Good choices on the menu for down home cooking.. We all had the special which was similar to a "chicken fried steak" served with mashed potatoes and many choices for sides ! Melt in your mouth delicious.So much was provided , we all took some extra's back to our residence for a late night snack. The desserts were OUT OF THIS WORLD ! We had their special that night which was a berry cobbler - needless to say, everyone ate all of their sweetness that night. It was delicious. Coffee was hot and freshly brewed. The bill for the meal was very reasonable. So, looking for some down home cooking - go to Clyde's ! It's a good choice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    33
    42
    11
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NE Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Bar BQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Very Tasty bar B Q, good service and convenient location. Easy to find, plenty of seating, clean and comfortable. Good menu choices of great Bar B Q, and other choices. Varied drink menu as well.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Food for locals & travelers for decades”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I first ate ice cream at Clyde's as a child...late 1950's on a trip from Asheville to Sylva.Next time was 1979 for dinner when I moved to Waynesville and that continued over the next 30+ yrs. Placemats are a retro mapof the area with sites you would want to visit. Had those placemats in 1950's. Only change is there are no longer little dollies under your coffee cups. Food quality is always the same. Clean old-fashioned diner. Outstanding service. Expect a short wait on weekends.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkin, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Food at Good Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We eat breakfast at Clyde's every fall when we visit Waynesville. Great food and service. We have eaten dinner there and it is also great. It is closed on Monday so sometimes we can't do anything but breakfast there. Good neighborhood family style restaurant

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good home cooking, nothing fancy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The desk clerk at our hotel recommended Clyde's for dinner when we checked in. The restaurant is close to the Best Western, which was nice after a long day on the road. The place was busy which is to be expected on a Friday night. We only waited 6 minutes for a table. Our waitress was very friendly and efficient. The food was good and portions were large. I had the catfish special. The fish was fresh and the breading was light and tasty. My husband and stepson both had a new chicken dish. The chicken was juicy and had a honey citrus glaze. Their only complaint was that it could have used a little more of the glaze. Overall, we were very pleased with the service and the food. In fact, we may go back for breakfast.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clyde's Restaurant also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Clyde's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clyde's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.