We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upbeat Fun Bar and Grill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tipping Point Tavern

Tipping Point Tavern
190 North Main Street, Waynesville, NC 28786
828-246-9230
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 106 Restaurants in Waynesville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Upbeat Fun Bar and Grill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

If you want to have a beer and some fish and chips.. this is the place. A good spot when you want to go out for burgers, beer and ballgames on TV. Packed on weekend nights, some live music.. it's the local hang out.. Fun.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cameron713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Beers and Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I visited Waynesville on a weekend getaway in February. After a bit of strolling historic Waynesville, it was recommended we eat here. We were glad we did!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“good for a quick bite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Located on the main walking route and having specials is a very good thing. I really enjoyed the Shepard's pie, a personal favorite. Not as crazy about the fish tacos though. Smiling and quick service was appreciated both times we visited.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TES1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Good Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I would have never expected a bar to have such great food!!! Great beer selection and REALLY good fish tacos!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LocalYocal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad food, bitter beer, and insanely priced kids meals!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife had the fish and chips, I had the Reuben. Hers was overly greasy, in fact she had to roll them in a paper towel to release some of the grease; she ate it, but got sick later. Mine was also greasy as well as chewy, absolutely the worst Reuben that I've ever had. The beer that they brew there is overly bitter, and selection of micros to chose from is small. The kids meals, including drinks are over $8! I didn't know or expect the price of kids meals to be this high as they, or their respective prices, are not even listed on the menu. We won't be back. This is not our first time at a micro brewery, so we realize that this is an exception, not the rule. There are so many good ones in this area, the Tipping Point Tavern is simply not one of them.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathanael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tipping Point Tavern also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Tipping Point Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing