We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique & Flavorfull” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frogs Leap Public House

Frogs Leap Public House
44 Church St, Waynesville, NC 28786-5709
+1 828-456-1930
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Frogs Leap Public House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 97 Restaurants in Waynesville
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Montgomery
Description: A Unique Farm to Fork Experience: Innovative Southern Food with a Local Backbone & Home Grown Libations Frogs Leap Public House is a farm to table country pub at the corner of Church and Montgomery Streets, built in 1918 as the southeast's first Buick dealer just one block south of Main in the heart of historic downtown Waynesville. FLPH is focused on the culture, art, music, wine, beer and especially the food of Western North Carolina. Like the City of Waynesville itself, FLPH is Southern down to its roots, but draws influences from around the world. The food is fresh and local, the libations are home grown, the music is American and has a beat. FLPH is home to a family with a passion for serving world class food, wine, and spirits in a soulful, comforting atmosphere.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unique & Flavorfull”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

While we had to send back a dish the server and chef recovered with a quick fresh plate that was delicious. The crab cakes were great and enough to share for two. Definitely give this a try. Flavorful and unique dishes.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    70
    23
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pearland, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My mom and I went here for the first time last week. It was absolutely delicious. They were able to make something as simple as a ceasar salad taste exceptional. My mom had the sliders, and couldn't have been happier with them. We will be back next time we visit Waynesville.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie Valley
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE. Hair in food?!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I am so disappointed and utterly disgusted with tonight's visit to Frog's Leap.
I first want to say that I am (was) a REPEAT customer, and a LOCAL (born and raised) I was so excited to have a restaurant like this in Waynesville - local food, great beer, fun atmosphere...Our first few visits were great! However tonight was a disaster.

My husband bit into one of the beef sliders and pulled out a LONG BLACK HAIR. We quietly called the bar tender over, she was very nice and professional and took the plate. We continued to drink our beer and recover out appetite, and waited for a response from the owner who was in and out of the bar. She finally came over to us, holding out the plate of food we had sent back and said "There is NO ONE in my kitchen that has hair this long, it must be yours (referring to me)" I was speechless that she would accuse me of putting hair in the food. Then she rudely said "well, do you want the rest of this?" and held out the plate of food. That was it.

If she had just nicely apologized and offered to get us something else - that would have been it. No problem. Instead, she stopped us from spending another $30 dollars on more drinks and desert, and worst of all - LOST A LOCAL CUSTOMER that would have come back all winter - long after the tourists were gone. NOT A GOOD BUSINESS MOVE!

There was a very nice couple sitting next to us that were in from out of town. They heard the whole thing and said they were disgusted by the way she handled it. 2 MORE LOST CUSTOMERS.

Seriously??

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Limited choices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

It's a relatively new restaurant and people seem to like it. Seating is limited and reservations encouraged. My group liked it, but not a lot of choices on the menu. The bar area seemed to do a lot of business. The waitress was very good and very busy. Food was good but not something we'd have to do again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Horrible PR”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Having arrived at 6:15 pm on a slow Tuesday evening, two of us we were greeted by an almost empty restaurant. The hostess was less than helpful when she asked if we had reservations, looked over her seating chart and said it would be an hour and one half. We never experienced a smile, a warm welcome or an apology that they couldn't seat us. We asked if you could eat in the bar and she snipped it was full and walked away. We decided to have a drink even though we felt less than welcome. I was hoping that we could get a few seats after someone was seated and it really has a great menu, wonderful ambience and it smelled like smoked BBQ. Well, the bar tender ignored us for ten minutes , so we threw in the towel. I would like to add, we were well dressed, two sweet little ladies with a great attitude. :) so, we left and walked around the corner and had a lovely wonderful meal and were treated well.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frogs Leap Public House also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Frogs Leap Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frogs Leap Public House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.