We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit Arty, check the menu before you go.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frogs Leap Public House

Frogs Leap Public House
44 Church St, Waynesville, NC 28786-5709
+1 828-456-1930
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Frogs Leap Public House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 97 Restaurants in Waynesville
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Montgomery
Description: A Unique Farm to Fork Experience: Innovative Southern Food with a Local Backbone & Home Grown Libations Frogs Leap Public House is a farm to table country pub at the corner of Church and Montgomery Streets, built in 1918 as the southeast's first Buick dealer just one block south of Main in the heart of historic downtown Waynesville. FLPH is focused on the culture, art, music, wine, beer and especially the food of Western North Carolina. Like the City of Waynesville itself, FLPH is Southern down to its roots, but draws influences from around the world. The food is fresh and local, the libations are home grown, the music is American and has a beat. FLPH is home to a family with a passion for serving world class food, wine, and spirits in a soulful, comforting atmosphere.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Bit Arty, check the menu before you go.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Very nice restaurant, good setting, well laid out and inviting. We went with a group and some of them had trouble finding something to eat as the food was a little unusual (e.g. Grilled Painted Hills Beef Short Rib Meatloaf/Smoked Mac & Cheese/Braised Local Collards/Tomato Jam) but had some very interesting flavours and was well presented. Also has a farm to fork eco-friendly attitude, trying to use local produce wherever possible, which is pleasing. A little pricey.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    70
    23
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

After reading reviews we were a little leery of the wood smoke from the wood fired ovens. But honestly, I don't think that should give anyone a moments hesitation. The entire experience during our stay was fantastic. Staff were very attentive and being able to watch the chefs work the wood fired ovens was a treat. Wine I has was amazing. It is now on my list of must finds! Food was spectacular. If in Waynesville, I highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Close but no cigar!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had reservations at 7pm and were sat with no delay. Nice two top near a window. Our servers name was Ashley. She did an awesome job!!! The atmosphere was very nice, but the wood fire oven had the place smelling over the top like a campfire!! My wife has onion allergies and the staff went beyond expectations in helping with this!!!
Ok.... The food! Beautiful menu and farm to table fresh! Service and presentation was very nice. Good bartender that night too. Really knew how to mix a good cocktail. I had skirt steak with broccoli served over stone ground grits! Brocolini and grits.... Yum! Steak.... Not so much. Tough and stringy. My first and last skirt steak. she had Charleston shrimp and grits. Don't know if the shrimp or grits tasted food or not. Way way way over the top with garlic!!!! Seriously!!! We enjoy garlic and cook with it all the time, but WOW!!
We would give them a second try if we were local and navigate around these few issues.
This place is worth a try, just be aware of the garlic.. Lol.
Ask for Ashley, she did an awesome job!!!

BTW..... They served us free desert for an anniversary compliment!!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, NJ
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good but Noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Good food and service, but the music played is not conducive to leisurely dining, and the smoky odor takes some getting used to.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Way too noisy to enjoy a nice dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Recommended by several but you have to block out the barnlike sound. Hi metal ceilings don't make it any better. The food was good. But it was hard to hear your table mate. Also the bench sitting in the front was quite uncomfortable.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frogs Leap Public House also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Frogs Leap Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frogs Leap Public House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.