We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frogs Leap Public House

Frogs Leap Public House
44 Church St, Waynesville, NC 28786-5709
+1 828-456-1930
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Frogs Leap Public House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 100 Restaurants in Waynesville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Montgomery
Description: A Unique Farm to Fork Experience: Innovative Southern Food with a Local Backbone & Home Grown Libations Frogs Leap Public House is a farm to table country pub at the corner of Church and Montgomery Streets, built in 1918 as the southeast's first Buick dealer just one block south of Main in the heart of historic downtown Waynesville. FLPH is focused on the culture, art, music, wine, beer and especially the food of Western North Carolina. Like the City of Waynesville itself, FLPH is Southern down to its roots, but draws influences from around the world. The food is fresh and local, the libations are home grown, the music is American and has a beat. FLPH is home to a family with a passion for serving world class food, wine, and spirits in a soulful, comforting atmosphere.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Better late, than never:
My husband and I were lucky enough to stumble upon this wonderful restaurant last August (2011) while vacationing in the area. I am still DREAMING of the amazing, freshly-made cocktails, and the creative and mouth-watering small plates that we shared (smoked pork served over homemade cornmeal pancake topped with slaw!! OMG!).
I have never experienced farm-to-table quite like this - Extraordinary! To top it off, the staff is wonderful. We sat at the bar and thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of the atmosphere.
If you are in the Maggie Valley, Waynesville, Ashville area - RUN, don't walk, to this place as fast as you can. Definitely the best dining experience we had during our week long visit. I'm still thinking about it almost a year later!

Now, if only it weren't so far away...

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    78
    24
    7
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stone mountain ga.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Always a winner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We have visited Frogs Leap several times since they opened. Most recently, Friday May 25th. As in past visits, they did not disappoint. Salads as divine, wonderful dressings and greens are served cold, as they should be. Entrees, we had three different ones between the four of us, from chicken to pork, were delicious. We asked for the recipe for the wonderful chicken dish, an Airline cut breast which was wonderful, and were given the ingredients( which we will try to duplicate). What a great dish. The Chef is very creative and the food is worth a return visit. The only suggestion we would have is that the wine glass served should be a more generous serving.
We'll be back with twelve friends next weekend!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North CArolina
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best place in Town- hands down honest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Amazing menu items,
Superb service
Great value for money
This place Rocks!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Some good things but untrained staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

I have now dined/lunched at the FLPH five times and my experience has been the same each time. The menu is varied both in terms of items and portion size, something I really appreciate. Some of the dishes are excellent and others are not so successful with far too much salt being a big issue. One can add salt but if is a dish is too salty - the ravioli last night - the goat cheese stuffed chicken several nights before- one cannot save it.
My biggest criticism has to be some of the staff. I like the friendliness of the area in general but when I sit down to dinner with friends I want to visit with them NOT with my wait person. I do not wish to have staff patting my back or my arm, telling me their favourite dish, telling me why they need to refill glasses (just do it) and generally chatting through (and over) the diners' conversation. Returning to the table once after diners have had a chance to sample a course to determine if anything else is required is appreciated; returning three times with a perky "is everything ok?' which it seems is less of a question and more of an opening gambit for more chatter is not appreciated!
So my recommendations to FLPH would be back off the salt and make the staff aware that this is a social event for the diners NOT for the waitstaff.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Farm to table - local foods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

This was so good we wanted to return again and again! We were very pleased to find Kenny's cheese from KY on the menu!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frogs Leap Public House also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Frogs Leap Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frogs Leap Public House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.