We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sandwiches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nico's Cafe

Nico's Cafe
76 Waynesville Plaza Russ Ave., Waynesville, NC 28786-3719
828-456-1844
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 95 restaurants in Waynesville
Cuisines: Cuban
Restaurant details
Waynesville, NC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My friend and I met for lunch there last week. They have moved to a new location from downtown to a local shopping center, but the food is good as always. I had the mufaletta this time, and it was excellent with a tasty homemade olive salad. They also have Cuban sandwiches, subs, reubens, hamburgers, etc., but I prefer the Cuban inspired sandwiches the most.
Service was excellent and friendly. If you just want a sandwich for lunch, this is the place to go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    28
    22
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waynesville, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Cuban...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Pick up your frequent flyer Cuban card from Nico's and enjoy. I'm addicted to these sandwiches. Sometimes a little too much mayo, but always great!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Consistently good food and great personal service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Nico's restaurant is a relaxed setting where you find good food and personal attention. We have eaten many times here finding the same great quality of food and service every time. We have also used their catering service. Our guests loved the food and wanted to know who catered it. Carol & Glenn G

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fresh, Tasty, Ooooh so GOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Had lunch at Nico's Cafe for the first time and was very pleased. I had the Bayshore Wrap and it was fresh, plentiful and fast. This wrap had lots of flavor and plenty of fresh veggies and the chicken was just the right portion. There is a variety to choose from on their menu so there is something for everyone. The staff was very nice and friendly and checked with us a few times to see if everything was okay and that we had what we needed. They offer call ahead take out and you don't have to get out of the car just buzz through the drive thru. We will make it a point to come back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fresh and Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

They moved from an inconvenient location down town to a stand alone building on Russ Ave with Drive Thru!! Hoo Ray. Fantastic sandwiches,try the Cuban, good soup and a great value. Nice people too. Call ahead for take out.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nico's Cafe also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Nico's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nico's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.