We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must do!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Swag Country Inn Restaurant

The Swag Country Inn Restaurant
2300 Swag Road, Waynesville, NC 28785-2407
828-926-0430
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 95 restaurants in Waynesville
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hemphill Road
Description: Meals at The Swag, a Smoky Mountain resort, are both social and delectable experiences. It is not unusual for lasting friendships to be forged while guests feast on our gourmet cuisine at our North Carolina mountain escape! Our always-exceptional evening meals are influenced by the seasons and the personal style of our fabulous chef. Our ever-changing menus feature the freshest herbs, fruits, and vegetables (often from our own gardens) and products from local farmers and purveyors, such as Sunburst Trout Farms in the heart of Pisgah National Forest. We invite you to relax and experience the fine casual dining and creative regional cuisine that is the hallmark of The Swag.
Bradenton
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Must do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

No matter what, have a meal at the SWAG. Pay the price, and go early and walk around. They have mastered every detail of customer satisfaction. The owner tells a story on the property before the meal. Heartwarming. Julie was amazing to work with. Sure wish she lived in Florida!
Go, go go!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    26
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Owensboro, Kentucky, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gourmet meals prepared by chef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Breakfast buffet -- lots to choose from, including vegetarian and gluten free.
No sit-down lunch in the dining room, but a backpack or sack lunch is provided.
Dinners are served at the tables. Small portions but we never left hungry. Great desserts and entrees. Waiters are friendly and work very hard to keep everyone happy.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“This place is wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife and I had our first visit last June to the Swag. We weren't sure what to expect...but we were extremely pleased at the end! First, the grounds are simply amazing. Beautiful views everywhere you look...and, great hiking trails on the property. There are plenty of 'hideaways' hidden off the trails. A very nice touch, a hint of privacy my wife and I both enjoyed. The property also borders the National Park with endless miles of trails. There is no shortage of hiking options, if that's what you are into.

The food is simply amazing! We enjoyed the appetizers in the breezeway chatting away with fellow guests, and the entrees were fantastic. My wife and I also enjoyed the packed lunch while we were hiking. The Sunday brunch is NOT to be missed. The spread is quite impressive!

Our room, Laurin's Room, was small but very cozy...just perfect for our getaway. It's located within the main lodge next to the gift shop, but it was perfect. In fact, we've already booked the same room for more nights this Spring.

No detail goes untouched at the Swag. It's our favorite getaway from the kids, and we'll go year after year. While the cost may seem a bit high, it's worth it...you don't want to pass it up!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie Valley, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful family outing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Inn is spectacular and the view is even better! If you choose to go for the day or a week, you won't be disappointed!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Never want to leave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful bed and breakfast in the mountains of western NC! Accommodations and food are outstanding! The hosts are so friendly and gracious, they make you feel right at home. Celebrated 3 birthdays here and would like to come back every year! If you love to hike, or just lay in a hammock and take in the amazing scenery, this is the perfect place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swag Country Inn Restaurant also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to The Swag Country Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swag Country Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.