We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Spice

Thai Spice
128 North Main Street, Waynesville, NC 28786
1 828-454-5400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 100 Restaurants in Waynesville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Waynesville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“good but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I would recommend this place only if you really like Thai food or want to try it if you never have. It is pretty pricey, but the food is wonderful. Location is of course great if you are checking out downtown as it is right on the main walking route.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    53
    17
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waynesville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“No service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Visited Thai Spice on a recent Saturday night. We've been there several times before and found it pleasant and the food quite good, although the service has always been a little slow. However, on this Saturday night the service was non-existent. The restaurant was crowded and there appeared to be only one waitress. After 20 minutes she had not approached our table or even made eye contact with us, although she waited on tables right next to us. We finally left.

I do understand and sympathize w/a busy restaurant but Thai Spice was clearly understaffed for a Saturday night and, as someone who waited tables myself all through college, even on a busy night a quick smile and "I'll be right with you" goes a long way. Being ignored does not.

We will not be back.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pleasent Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stopped by with my wife and youngest son (visiting from Charleston SC)
Never had been here, but was pleasently surprised by the size and decor of this downtown resturant. Lot's of Christmas shoppers so they could have used one more person on the wait staff, but very friendly service. Food was very good and served hot, portion was OK, but on the small side if your a good eater.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Waynesville Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Thai Spice is a great Thai restaurant, only Thai restaurant, in Waynesville, NC. Prices and quality are fantastic. There is an addition plus....being in the bible belt many restaurants are closed on Sundays and Thai Spice is open on Sundays. They do not take reservations and that is another plus for my wife and I because we can dine when we are hungry and ready to eat with no prior committment.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“D e l i c i o u s !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Extensive menu, great for vegetarians and meat eaters alike!! Lunch and Dinner prices are reasonable. Thais Spice has a friendly staff that we look forwarding to seeing each time we stop by. Highly recommend you try out this wonderful restaturant on Main Street.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Spice also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Thai Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.