We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a small town, it is good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cork & Cleaver Steakhouse

Cork & Cleaver Steakhouse
176 Country Club Drive, The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, Waynesville, NC 28786
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 96 restaurants in Waynesville
Price range: $16 - $34
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: South Main Street
Bradenton
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“For a small town, it is good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

It was recommended as a pricy place, but I didn't consider the prices to be bad at all. I wish the service could have been more attentive, but the food was pretty good and the apps, were actually better then the dinner. And, a large portion. Drinks were good as well. I will go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    39
    16
    7
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rock Hill
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This could have been an excellent dinner if the service would have been up to par. That's why its only a very good rating.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Entire meal was fabulous. I had the best Salmon I have ever eaten. My husband said the steak was incredible. Great wine selection too.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWIfoodandbeverage, Director of Food and Beverage at Cork & Cleaver Steakhouse, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind words in regards to your recent visit to Cork & Cleaver. The Salmon Duo is one of our most popular dishes and everyone knows that a great steak cooked perfectly is one of the finer things in life. I am truly happy that you were able to enjoy your meal with us and we hope to see you again very soon.

Thank you again,

Nate Sullins
Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, SC
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Dinner was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

THe meal was part of our Groupon package. We both had steak. Large cut of meat done as requested. Service was very good. We will return

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWIfoodandbeverage, Director of Food and Beverage at Cork & Cleaver Steakhouse, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
I am glad that you folks were able to make the short trip up from the Hub City to visit Waynesville and have some time to relax; I am very pleased to hear that the food and service were to your liking even if the music was not. The Osso Bucco recipe is a family tradition of our Executive Chef Cory Green, I will gladly pass on your kind words.

Thank you again for your visit and for taking the time to write a review.

Nate Sullins
Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Anniversary Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is the place to go for dinner if you want a terrific Osso Bucco. I have never had such a wonderful meal. Cooked to perfection and the sauce was spectacular.
You have to go here for dinner, but stay away during breakfast. The staff is overworked and getting a refill on your coffee could be problematic.
Oh yes, the music. It is like stepping into an elevator in Las Vegas during the 60's - or earlier. To each his own though.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cork & Cleaver Steakhouse also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains

Been to Cork & Cleaver Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cork & Cleaver Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.