We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ordered take out - loved it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Buddies Ribs & Barbecue

Fat Buddies Ribs & Barbecue
193 Waynesville Plz, Waynesville, NC 28786-2993
828-456-6368
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 97 Restaurants in Waynesville
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Madeira Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Ordered take out - loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Hot, fresh, perfectly cooked ribs, chicken, brisket and pulled pork. The salads are very good, too. This is a great option for nights when we don't feel like cooking.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    43
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooksville, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Second Time Around as Good as the First”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is the second time we have been to Fat Buddies, the first time this year. It is still as great as last year. I had the baby back ribs and at my coaxing, my wife had the brisket. Both were excellent and the value to cost couldn't be better... (unless they were free)! LOL The ribs are fall off the bone tender, and the brisket is cooked to perfection. Wonderful sides, great fries, they baked beans are to die for! Service was spot on. If you are in or near Waynesville, NC, GO TO FAT BUDDIE'S!! We may even be there when you are, because we will be going back OFTEN!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie Valley, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“My favorite barbecue place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

A group of 20 of us visited Fat Buddies last night. The table was ready for us, we were greeted immediately by a server took us back to our table. The rest of the group arrived shortly.

The restaurant is clean, the service fast and friendly, and I need our waitress, Brooke, to tell me how she can serve so many people and get all the orders right and in front of the correct person. It was the same when it came time to give us the bills.

Fat Buddies is one of the few places where the tip is not added to the bill and I know many of us tipped generously because of how well Brooke did.

All of the managers are friendly and will come to talk to you if you ask.

Our group visits there about every 8 weeks throughout the year. In the winter our group is usually less than 10 though.

Thank you Fat Buddies managers and staff for having such a good restaurant in Waynesville where the prices are reasonable and the food is plenty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evensville, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I normally don't do negative reviews but this one is an exception”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We went in for an early supper and we're quickly seated. The young waiter comes to take our drink order and we have to ask him to bring menus. Sadly the experience went quickly downhill from there. The food was slow to the table and when it arrived, the fried pickles were over-salted and were inedible. The smoked turkey was good but the toasted bun it was placed on was hard as a rock. The sweet potato waffle fries were decent but were along the same lines of the ones you find in your freezer section. Lastly, when asked by the cashier how the meal was I explained that it was not a good experience and she was dumbfounded and was only able to wish me a happy evening.

So if you want BBQ that you can find almost anywhere in at atmosphere overwhelmed by Nascar memorablia and a very youthful wait staff, this place is for you. Otherwise, there are at least three good restaurants visible from this very parking lot.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Never miss it when we're in the area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is always on our list of must-do's when we're here. Always consistent - great ribs, good service, good prices. The restaurant is always clean and its a good family atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Buddies Ribs & Barbecue also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Fat Buddies Ribs & Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Buddies Ribs & Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.