We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best BBQ around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Buddies Ribs & Barbecue

Fat Buddies Ribs & Barbecue
193 Waynesville Plz, Waynesville, NC 28786-2993
828-456-6368
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 96 Restaurants in Waynesville
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Waynesville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best BBQ around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The best BBQ I have had in the area. Highly recommended! Baby back ribs are the bomb, and you gotta have the beans. Baked potatoes fit for a kind

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    49
    37
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Had a disappointing take out dinner because they only serve baby back ribs. Okay but nothing special. Also had fried chicken sandwich in our party and it was dry and very thin fillet of chicken. Not likely to go back the next time we are in the area. Service was friendly

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Fat Buddies was a little hard to find because it is in a shopping center. An unassuming store front hides a quaint BBQ joint complete with NASCAR posters and sports on TV ( no sound). You hardly notice the country music playing softly in the background because the food is out of this world. My husband and I shared a platter that had a rack of ribs, beef brisket, fabulous baked beans, fries, and garlic bread. Our waitress suggested that we share a platter because the price was reasonable and the food abundant. We had plenty to eat and even shared the brownie dessert. We will definitely go back. They are open 6 days a week, closed Sunday.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia, USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our group of about 40 ate here when we returned from a day trip to the Biltmore in Asheville....we were staying a Lake Junaluska Conference Center. Food was delicious, staff very accommodating and everything was ready for us when we arrived. Everyone commented on how good the BBQ was, the Baked Beans were excellent and I absolutely loved the Coleslaw. They brought us out a variety of desserts which were yummy and came around with ice cream to top it off. Would definitely recommend if you are in mood for BBQ....have no idea what else was on menu because food was pre-ordered by group leader.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The BBQ is excellent. Service is outstanding. Very family friendly with ice cream for the kids. Will definitely visit again when we are in the area.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Buddies Ribs & Barbecue also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Fat Buddies Ribs & Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Buddies Ribs & Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.