We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oak Hill on Love Lane Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Oak Hill on Love Lane Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Oak Hill on Love Lane Bed & Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   224 Love Lane, Waynesville, NC   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Waynesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best of the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Deb and Shell are the greatest. We've stayed in numerous B&Bs in Waynesville and this one is #1 in our book. The environs are incredible...right out of Southern Living. The rooms are plush and fabulous. Deb's breakfasts are to die for and conversation around the breakfast table is always fun. Shell is always right there...wanting to take care of every whim.

For example: We were relaxing in our room when there was a knock at the door. In comes Shell with a plate of smores fresh out of the oven. He thought we might like some while they were still warm.

This is the real deal for R&R. We only live 40 minutes away in Asheville but another weekend at Oak Hill on Love Lane is in our immediate future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
107
5
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was our first visit to Oak Hill and to actually stay in Waynesville. I must say my husband found a gem, from the moment you walk in the door you are on the path to be "pampered". From Deb and Shell's wonderful and soothing personalities to the stunning decorations in this beautiful historic home. The Lavender scented towels that are always fresh, the chocolates on the pillows, the fresh water..... They are always there to help you find a destination or for dinner reservations, day or night. THE BEST PART is the SUPERB breakfast every morning shared with other interesting guests, and then the "bag" to go. You have to visit to find out. Thank you Deb and Shell, we will be back. Peggy and Terry Taylor



Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

You will not go wrong with choosing this lovely inn. Deb and Shell are exceptional hostesses. We were pampered from the moment we arrived. Our luggage was taken to our beautifully decorated room and we were given a tour of the historic house. Shell was always available to give us directions, information, or dinner recommendations. Deb cooked absolutely delicious breakfast each morning. We would highly recommend this B&B. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at Oak Hill for two nights on a road trip taking in the Blue Ridge Parkway and Smoky Mountains National Park. We decided to splash out a bit as we were on our honeymoon, and we were not disappointed we chose Oak Hill. From the start Deb and Shell were the perfect hosts, they make you feel very welcome and are genuinely bothered that you get the most out of your stay, from providing local information and advice on sights worth seeing to being happy to come and pick anyone up that wanders into town and either gets lost or has a bit too much to drink! The house is beautiful, with plenty of well furnished rooms that the guests can make use of. Our room was perhaps the best we have ever stayed in - perfectly clean and very comfortable. Breakfast on both days was delicious with very attentive service from the hosts! We would recommend Oak Hill without hesitation, and only hope we are in a position to stay there again one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This B&B is everything and more. The owners are super nice and go above and beyond. My room was beautiful and super clean. The lavender lotion oh I just loved it. Breakfast was superb this place is better than any 5 star hotel I have stayed at. I was here on business but I am planning to come back for vacation.

Room Tip: Any room will be excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Myers
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Oak Hill on Love Lane is a very special place. From the moment of arrival you feel like you are visiting with old friends. As you enjoy porch time a wonderful sense of peace settles in and you are renewed. The house itself is fun to investigate. Each room has its own atmosphere. Attention to detail is evident everywhere. Deb and Shell are the consummate hosts and innkeepers. They anticipate your every need. Your palate won't be disappointed as you partake of the exquisite breakfast you are served each day. If your plan is to visit Biltmore or many of the quaint little towns nearby you are conveniently located. The Blue Ridge Parkway is close and it is a wonderful alternate route to Asheville. This very special place is perfect for unpacking your bags and staying awhile. Of course we are quite prejudiced, this was our 11th visit and it certainly will not be our last!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I could not have chosen a better place to celebrate our anniversary! When choosing a room this wife is not easy to please (cleanliness is #1); Shell and Deb at Oak Hill totally nailed Bed & Breakfast perfection. We stayed in the Bess Ray-Howell Room, which was VERY clean and beautifully decorated. While the pictures online are lovely, we were delighted to find that our room was even better than the pictures. Breakfast here is fantastic. Shell and Deb serve so much food that they send the yummy third course with their guests in a bag to enjoy later in the day if they choose. Great snacks, fresh baked cookies, and coffee are available at all times, and the nightly turn down service is a great added luxery. Oak Hill is also very close to town which makes for an enjoyable walk to all the shops. Charming, clean, peaceful, and romantic, this B&B is a real treasure. It will be difficult to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oak Hill on Love Lane Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Hill on Love Lane Bed & Breakfast

Address: 224 Love Lane, Waynesville, NC
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oak Hill on Love Lane Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"THE SERVICE AND AMENITIES OF A FINE HOTEL IN THE QUIET COMFORT OF A B&B" - In the mountains of Western NC, Oak Hill is just 30 minutes from Asheville, 9 miles from the Blue Ridge parkway, a short drive away from over 200 waterfalls, white water rafting, zip lines, hiking, biking and so much more. Whether you are an outdoor enthusiast or enjoy a leisurely stroll through quaint, historic Downtown Waynesville there's something for everyone at Oak Hill. Enjoy upscale decor and furnishings, impeccable service and delicious house-made 3-course gourmet breakfasts. Reed our reviews to see what other guests have enjoyed, or give us a call for further information. Hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Oak Hill on Love Lane Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak Hill on Love Lane Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.