We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Class Act!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oak Hill on Love Lane Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Oak Hill on Love Lane Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oak Hill on Love Lane Bed & Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   224 Love Lane, Waynesville, NC   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$10 off all Rooms/Suites
Ranked #2 of 22 Waynesville B&B and Inns
Woolwich, Maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Class Act!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Our stay at Oak Hill was beyond expectation. We arrived and were greeted by Shell who gave us a tour of their beautiful home. Our arrival was perfectly timed as we were able to peek into the other guest rooms. Each room was tastefully decorated and absolutely beautiful. The pictures of the rooms you see on their website are exactly what you get.

It's the little things that add up to a exceptional experience.

1) Shell helped us with our luggage from the car to our room. Both on arrival and departure..... Outstanding!!!!
2) We asked if we could have some ice in our room and within a few minutes ice was delivered in a crystal ice bucket on a silver tray......Classy!!!!
3) I had chosen the Bess Ray Howell room which has a stunning bathroom with the original clawfoot tub.
I could not have been more pleased. I took a lovely soak before heading out for a walk into town and dinner. When we arrived back after dinner our bed had been turned down and fresh towels had replaced the ones I had used......Attentive!!!!!
4) Breakfast was wonderful and as others have written, after breakfast Deb sent us on our way with homemade muffins,,,Thoughtful!!!!! ,

Shell and Deb have achieved a perfect balance of being solicitous and respect of privacy. A Class Act.

Thank you Shell and Deb
From
Judy and Steve from Maine

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
96
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kernersville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Oak Hill is a lovely historic home in one of our favorite places in the mountains...Waynesville!
We spent the weekend in the Clyde Ray Sr. suite with a beautiful and comfortable king bed and with a two-person Jacuzzi/shower. Our suite was marvelous with spa robes, luxurious towels and sheets, flat screen TV, hair dryer, daily maid and evening turn-down service. The soaps and lotions provided were from Mountain Farm in nearby Burnsville, NC. There is a Butler's pantry located in the main dining room where coffee, hot tea, soft drinks and bottled water are available. There is also a basket of fresh baked goods and snacks always available. The home was beautifully decorated, well-maintained and very quiet in the evenings and no problems sleeping at all. The breath-taking wrap-around porch with it's wicker furniture will invite you to sit a spell and relax as we did! The meals served in the main dining room were absolutely delicious and the conversation amongst the visiting guests was lively and enjoyable! We enjoyed a weekend visit very much because it gave you a chance to experience all the service and amenities of a fine hotel in the quiet and comfort of a bed and breakfast.
Our thanks go out to Deb and Shell Isenberg, Innkeepers for a very memorable anniversary!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

It's rare to achieve perfection and that's what the Oak Hill Inn is!! Shell and Deb genuinely like people. It reflects in their attitude and approach to their guests. They do all/everything to ensure one's full enjoyment of the B & B experience. Breakfasts are multi-course and gourment. Furnishings and grounds most attactive and impeccable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Our time with Deb and Shell at Oak Hill was above and beyond our expectations of a bed and breakfast specializing in quality service. Deb and Shell are rare jems and did everything possible to fine tune our stay with them. The essence of service! The inn is breathtaking, cozy and grand at the same time. Exquisite view of mountains from front porch. Every room is a winner and truly designed for a restful stay down to the tiny details only a close friend would think of. The breakfasts each morning were absolutely delicious, creative and satisfying. The "third course" a fun and thoughtful touch. Waynesville and the outlying towns are quiant and packed with opportunities; you won't find better guides than Deb and Shell, from restaurants to shops to nature. We will definitely return time and time again!! Can't say enough about this couple and their establishment. We consider them friends for life. J & R June 2012

Room Tip: Every room is just as it seems on the web. We had a grand tour and would have been pleased with any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed three nights at Oak Hill on Love Lane in May during my son's wedding. Others will no doubt attest to the extraordinary beauty and comfort of Oak Hill, and to the incredible breakfasts prepared by Deb. They are all that and more - you should see for yourself
What will make Oak Hill on Love Lane unforgettable for us, is the wonderful way we were treated. From long before our arrival until after our trip home, Shel and Deb were extraordinarily attentive, helpful, and friendly (not in that unctuous, cloying way - but REAL friendliness and REAL helpfulness throughout .) Because of the wedding, we had some extraordinary requests, including taking receipt of a container-sized load of centerpieces shipped in for the rehearsal dinner. They handled each one with friendly efficiency.

The level of service at Oak Hill is definitely what you would expect from the finest resorts, but it is more personal, relaxed, and one-to-one.

fI Shel and Deb ever tire of Oak Hill, their next career should be teaching other B&B's how to serve their visitors. They are really THAT good.

MH & W, May, 2012

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Our stay at Oak Hill could not have been better! The Inn was lovely as could be - such beautiful and comfortable rooms, with every appointment you can imagine. The food was extraordinary! Lovely fresh=baked goods for snacks, and an impeccable and beautifully served breakfast every morning with exceptional coffee and tea, fresh fruit, fabulous entrees..... It was head and shoulders beyond what you would get at a hotel. After an incredible night's sleep in the extremely comfortable bed, I rose early (as I do) and helped myself to the coffee and baked goods in the dining room, then seated myself on the beautiful front porch in a comfortable rocker, watching the growing sun light up the mountains in view, listening to the birds, enjoying the beautiful scenery and the lovely day with my coffee, until it was breakfast time. Innkeepers Deb and Shel were thoughtful and attentive and extremely hospitable.... I would go back there in a minute. My family occupied three of their rooms, and all of us were totally overwhelmed by the loveliness of the experience.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong - they are all comfortable and beautiful! It's all up to whether you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

Just another five star review for a five star bed and breakfast . Deb and Shell made us feel like family from the time we walked to the door until the time we left .The house is meticulous and the breakfast was first class . We plan on making this a stop whenever possible.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oak Hill on Love Lane Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Hill on Love Lane Bed & Breakfast

Address: 224 Love Lane, Waynesville, NC
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oak Hill on Love Lane Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"THE SERVICE AND AMENITIES OF A FINE HOTEL IN THE QUIET COMFORT OF A B&B" - In the mountains of Western NC, Oak Hill is just 30 minutes from Asheville, 9 miles from the Blue Ridge parkway, a short drive away from over 200 waterfalls, white water rafting, zip lines, hiking, biking and so much more. Whether you are an outdoor enthusiast or enjoy a leisurely stroll through quaint, historic Downtown Waynesville there's something for everyone at Oak Hill. Enjoy upscale decor and furnishings, impeccable service and delicious house-made 3-course gourmet breakfasts. Reed our reviews to see what other guests have enjoyed, or give us a call for further information. Hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Oak Hill on Love Lane Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak Hill on Love Lane Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.