We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waynesville
|
Rental Home – 
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Linda R
Cary, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“House beautiful, logistics need work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights over the 4th of July weekend. It is a gorgeous house. The view is awesome. We enjoyed swinging (and sleeping on the porch). Plenty of bedrooms, cool furniture, nicely stocked. We used it as home base for the Cold Mountain hike, Boogerman Trail hike, and a jaunt into Asheville. The first two hikes were about 1/2 hour away. One thing to note if anyone else is staying here over the 4th of July is that we hoped with the awesome view of semi-populated valleys below that we might see fireworks from the porch but the nearest ones must have been beyond the mountain ranges because they weren't visible to us.

Some things that needed work: The upstairs shower had to be rigged (with a hairtie) to stay on. The TV in the living room is pretty much unwatchable from the couches. The bathrooms had hardly any toilet paper in them. We did find toilet paper later in the laundry room and the kitchen, however putting it in the actual bathrooms would be much more obvious.

The above are just nits. The management logistics are what I found annoying. We rent a cabin every year in the mountains and every cabin always has a lockbox at the actual house. This house required you to go to the Carolina Vacations office to pick up and drop off the keys and the office was about 20-30 minutes away (and not enroute to/from I40). This also meant that the checkout time on the last day is effectively 10:30 because you have to get the keys to the office by 11. Also, they tell you that you have to take your garbage with you and dump it at a location further down the road from Carolina Vacations. The reason is that they don't have garbage pickup. While I understand the latter, I don't understand why the dropoff is the responsibility of the guest and not the management/cleaning company.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
2 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
FordFam
AL
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Raleigh
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
sarasota
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
4 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 4 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
MG
OH
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Raleigh
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Louisiana
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011 for a stay in May 2011
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
Rates have not been provided for this property. Please contact the owner/manager for total price.
Make Inquiry
Manager
Carolina Vacations, Inc.
8289260871
Speaks English
Listed since : Mar 2009
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing