We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay in Waynesville!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andon-Reid Inn Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Andon-Reid Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Andon-Reid Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   92 Daisy Ave, Waynesville, NC 28786   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Waynesville B&B and Inns
Zionville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay in Waynesville!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My wife and I traveled to Waynesville this past weekend for our anniversary. We chose to stay at the Andon-Reid based primarily on the reviews here on Tripadvisor. We arrived with great anticipation and left with complete satisfaction. Follow the directions on the Website and they'll lead you to the inn easily. Parking and the main entrance is located in the back of the house. If you drive big vehicle (like my Toyota Tundra), take it slow pulling around the house because it's a little tight.

Our host, Ron greeted us in the parking lot. He gave us the grand tour and even helped carry our bags to the room.

Where to begin?

The room- We stayed in the White Sulpher Suite. It was amazing. Very spacious, with a private enclosed deck. A sitting area, with fridge/sink in the room. A large bath, complete with shower and whirlpool tub. The bed was queen sized, incredibly comfortable with a wide range of pillows and soft sheets. The room was spotless! There was an A/C unit in the window, or you could open the windows to let the cool mountain air inside. I would definitely choose this room again.

Amenities- The Andon-Reid offers lots of extras to make your stay more pleasant. Outside, there is a fire pit where you can sit and relax to enjoy the evening. In the common room, there are M&Ms, trail mix, water/sodas for refreshment. The lower level housed the game/fitness room. I've stayed at several B&B's over the years, and none have had a room like this. There was a TV with a collection of DVDs, pool table, dart board, steam sauna, table shuffleboard, free weights, and a variety of exercise equipment.

Service- Ron and his staff did a fabulous job. From small to large, no detail seemed to be missed. They were eager to answer questions, offer suggestions on places to shop/eat, and honestly wanted to know what they could've done to make our experience better.

Breakfast- It was fabulous. There were two sittin areas, one in the common room and the other in the dining room. Each day consisted of a three course meal- Day 1- strawberries/bananas, followed by a vegetable quiche with toast and chipped ham/gravy/eggs, followed by a decadent chocolate pie for breakfast. Day 2- Oranges/ followed by sausage links and a melt in your mouth apple dish, wrapped up with a delicious coconut souffle. You will not leave the table hungry. You will probably want to skip lunch as well.

If you're interested, the Andon-Reid website provides a wealth of information about the inn, all of which is very representative of what you'll get. We got to meet several other couples during our stay, and they had the same feelings that we did about their trip.

If you're headed to Waynesville and are looking for a B&B, then you'll certainly want to check out the Andon-Reid.

Room Tip: The White Sulpher Suite is very spacious, has it's own jacuzzi, as well as a private deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    382
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
257
18
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

May 20-22, 2012 was our fourth time at Andon-Reid. We have stayed in four different rooms; each time we thoroughly enjoyed the particular room. Rachel's breakfasts are always awesome; each time she comes up with something new and different but very filling. My husband and I have decided that Ron and Rachel have ruined us for ever going to another bed and breakfast. The week prior to our stay was my husband's and my birthday week; Rachel even made us a small birthday cake which we brought home with us. Their hospitality and upkeep of the B&B are unmatched. We will continue to go there!

Beverly P

Room Tip: If you want a really great room to spread out in stay in the White Sulphur suite. Jacuzzi spa, balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This is by far the nicest place I have ever stayed in. My husband surprised me for our wedding night by reserving the bigger suite. It was wonderful and clean! Rachel and Ron were the most gracious guests ever! They gave us champagne on the house for our wedding night and recommended a wonderful place for us to have dinner! They also served us a wonderful three course breakfast that was very delicious! This was our first experience staying in a B&B and it was wonderful! I would recommend this place to anyone and we hope to stay here on our anniversary!

Room Tip: If you are couple and you want a nice romantic room, splurge a little bit on the Hummingbird Suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed at Andon-Reid for three nights in mid-May. Ron and Rachel are friendly and accommodating. In no time at all, we felt right at home with good friends. The house itself is on a quiet hillside street in a lovely old neighborhood populated with wonderful gardens. The rooms are beautiful; indeed the entire house is clean and well-appointed with everything guests could want. Even though it is an old house (the woodwork is gorgeous), the amenities are right up to date and luxurious. Our bed was very comfortable and outfitted with sheets and pillowcases so silky we laughed that they must have been some 10,000-count fabric spun from clouds. The bathroom was so well laid out we took notes on it because we’ll be renovating ours at home! Breakfasts were incredibly delicious and inspired us and other guests to friendly and fun conversation. One of the many nice things about the Andon-Reid experience is that you feel equally welcome to be social and join in the conversation with guests and hosts, or you can go off to a quiet place (there is plenty of space to spread out) and be private. There are so many other things to point out; lots of nice touches in the tastefully decorated rooms—a lighted makeup mirror in our room, a thoughtful touch that even some luxury hotels neglect to provide. Also, trust us, if Rachel recommends a place to dine out—eat there! Ron and Rachel also offer a nice wine selection for an after-dinner night-cap. The game and TV room, with a good pool table, exercise equipment and more was inviting, and we would have used it had we stayed longer, or the weather been awful (but it wasn’t). The yard and garden are delightful. Be sure to ask Rachel about the history of the house—it’s an “engaging” tale! Rachel's sister Elizabeth was there part of the time and it was a pleasure to get to know her as well. A quiet retreat from the cares of a long road trip, Andon-Reid proved to be the perfect place for us to relax and unwind after exploring Asheville, Waynesville and the Great Smoky Mountains.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

I’m sitting on my porch enjoying some of the tea we purchased at the old house in Waynesville after enjoying these blends at Andon Reid. The hand thrown mug from AR helps create a great memory of relaxing on the AR side porch with tea. It is these little touches that Rachel and Ron add to your stay that make this a fantastic getaway from our busy lives. We would recommend a weekend or week at AR to relax and recharge. We also totally agree with other comments...great rooms, private baths, award winning food, unbelievable hospitality, enjoyable time with other guests.

Room Tip: we stayed in the grand library ~ a relaxing room complete with fireplace, comfy chairs, spa tub, gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

For our first experience in a bed and breakfast, we decided to stay only a night. We wanted to experience it to see if we'd like it. It turned out that WE LOVED IT!!

As soon as we walked in, we were welcomed with a big smile. We could feel the warmth and comfort of the home. It was clean and beautifully decorated.

Our room was the cozy "Rustic Chestnut" room. It was a little peaceful retreat after being on the road for hours. It was a very relaxing night (the bed was amazing).

Lastly, breakfast was elegant and delicious.

We definitely RECOMMEND Andon-Reid Inn! Our stay was above and beyond from what we expected from a bed and breakfast.

Thank you Rachel and Ron for offering such a comfortable and peaceful stay!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We had a fantastic time at the Andon-Reid. We skipped the fitness assessment because it was too nice outside to spend time on fitness equipment, instead opting for two hikes - both were a bit of a drive, but it was great to have so many options in a 30(ish) mile radius! Ron and Rachel are also fantastic and introduced us to the most amazing idea: breakfast dessert. Rachel's amazing breakfast filled us up (without stuffing us) and kept us going through two looong hikes, even without lunch (though we definitely made use of the fresh baked cookies when we returned)!

Though you're a ways outside of Asheville, Waynesville is a very cute town with everything you need for a wonderful getaway. We really can't say enough positive things about our stay - we'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andon-Reid Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andon-Reid Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 92 Daisy Ave, Waynesville, NC 28786
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Andon-Reid Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally constructed in 1902 and now designated as one of Waynesville's historic properties, this turn of the century home reflects all the beauty, grace and charm that could be manifested in this traditional style of architecture. The Andon-Reid Inn Bed & Breakfast is located less than one mile from the center of downtown Waynesville, which is 26 miles west of Asheville. Our guest rooms are spacious, comfortable and tastefully decorated. Each with a fireplace, a private bathroom, luxurious robes and special individual amenities that make each of them unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo and Orbitz so you can book your Andon-Reid Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andon-Reid Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.