We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The top rating is certainly warranted” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brookside Mountain Mist Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Brookside Mountain Mist Inn to your Saves list
Brookside Mountain Mist Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   142 Country Club Dr., Waynesville, NC 28786   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fall Weekday Special
Ranked #3 of 22 Waynesville B&B and Inns
Michigan
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“The top rating is certainly warranted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here one night in the Pine Needles room. The inn is pretty much in perfect condition. The inn keepers are helpful and friendly, but not overly intrusive. There is adequate information on the inn's equipment and there is information on things to do in the area. The furnishings are top notch. The breakfast was good and they will try to accomodate special dietary needs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
185
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, Nc
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed with Carolyn & Dina for our "mini-honeymoon" and I was very impressed with Carolyn and her outgoing personality as well as her genuine concern for us. We were later than expected arriving and she called us to make sure we were alright...a nice touch not often seen. I had planned this event for my new husband as his wedding gift since he loves to hike. I thought it was a little closer to things than it really was so that was a bit disappointing. We did a lot of driving during our time there and not as much hiking as we expected. Upon arrival, Carolyn had our ordered fruit & cheese tray in the room waiting for us as well as a bottle of nice Pinot Noir and a 12 pack of beer for my husband chilling in the fridge. I had requested that it be there when I made reservations and she did not disappoint! Carolyn made our dinner reservations for us for that night and had chocolate covered strawberries waiting in the room for us when we returned. She definitely pays attention to the little things and doesn't miss a beat! Dina is much quieter and rarely on site other than mornings so we really didn't have an opportunity to talk with her like we did Carolyn.

The home and grounds are immaculate! I loved that they were SUPER clean and I truly think they could pass ANY white glove test! The breakfasts were good although not so much our style. We were there for three nights and out of the three breakfasts, two were sweet breakfasts (two different kinds of french toast.) I have to "pace" my sugar intake so didn't get to eat my complete breakfasts as they just had too much sugar (the last morning was banana nut muffins *super good*, a frozen fruit dish that tasted like it had quite a bit of sugar in it, and then finished with caramel praeline french toast...way too much sugar at one time for me personally. The one day we had a savory breakfast we enjoyed much better. Dina's hashbrown casserole is amazing!

The rooms were very good sized and beautifully decorated...and again, SUPER CLEAN! To me, it was a bit expensive but because Carolyn went above and beyond in the service department, I was "okay" with the price. The one thing I think I would change is that it would have been nice to have had the opportunity to sit at the same table with the other guests. The inn wasn't full when we were there and two of our three days, it was just us and one other couple. We tend to want to get to know new people that we meet and not stay off to ourselves. It would have been nice to at least have had the option to sit together instead of not being able to look at people directly while we talk. Overall, it was a very good trip and I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: The Hickory Hills Room is away from the other rooms in the Inn. Since it's tucked away a bit mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjgendreau, Owner at Brookside Mountain Mist Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on how we did during your recent stay with us. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your time and the "little extras" we helped you put together for your new husband. We wanted to congratulate you again on your recent marriage and hope that you have many years to enjoy each other and celebrate your love.

I wanted to let you know that there actually are many hiking trails closer to the Inn than the ones you opted for while you were here. One is just off of the Blue Ridge Parkway, not far from the Inn. Dina and I found it while driving around one day and keep it a bit of a secret for our guests that want a more private hiking experience. I wish we had had the opportunity to talk more about your hiking options while you were here. On your next visit, I will give you directions to some great hikes closer to our Inn.

Thank you for sharing with us your preference for savory breakfasts. Each of our guests have differing likes and dislikes so we alternate from sweet to savory every other day. If we know ahead of time, we can definitely accommodate providing you with savory breakfasts every morning. We will put this information into your profile so on your next visit we will be right on the mark for you. We want you to enjoy your breakfast as much as your room, since that is 50% of what we do.

Our dining room is set up with individual tables to allow guests the opportunity to spend some "alone time" during their breakfast experience. Some guests do start up conversations with other guests in the living room prior to breakfast and ask to sit together during breakfast in order to continue their conversation. No problem. We simply move the pace settings to the same table and away we go! At any time during your stay, we encourage our guests to request whatever would make them happy. We cannot always accommodate every request, but we sure like to try!

We believe that vacations are precious! Especially ones that involve important moments in our lives like birthdays and anniversary celebrations. We feel its our job to make sure that all your needs are met so you can thoroughly enjoy your Smoky Mountain escape!

We look forward to the next time we get the opportunity to spoil you at Brookside. You deserve it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westtown
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

As good as it gets. I highly recommend this B & B. Super friendly, clean inside and out, delicious breakfasts, and great location. When I return to the Smokies, I wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else. Joe & Nancy from PA

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Johns, MI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We found Waynesville and Brookside Mountain Mist Inn to be a perfect choice as a base for our trip to the mountains of North Carolina. The inn is beautifully maintained both inside and out. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. We booked our room for six nights, something we were a bit leery to do just in case we were not pleased with the inn. However, we would make the same decision again if the opportunity arose. Carolyn and Dina are among the most pleasant and thorough innkeepers we have encountered in our bed and breakfast inn experiences. Each of our six mornings began with a different breakfast entree. Much laughter and conversation were served along with delicious food. Staying at the Brookside Mountain Mist Inn helped make our trip memorable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Such a pleasant surprise. My daughter and I stayed at the Inn for two days. Carolyn and Dina took wonderful care of us. The Inn and surrounding grounds are immaculate and the views are breathtaking . The morning breakfast, particularily the banana french toast was superb. These ladies have managed to create a warm, relaxing atmosphere for all of their guests. The little touches such as the "surprise afternoon dessert" are so nice to come back to after a day of sightseeing. There are many places to stay in both Waynesville and Asheville. My daughter and I are happy to have had the opportunity to have stayed with them. This is an excellent example of how a Bed & Breakfast should operate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

What a welcome we received from both innkeepers. Dina has the perfect personality for making people feel comfortable! Carolyn compliments the team by her cooking.... The food was delectable, and the surroundings were impeccably kept. We spent quite a bit of time on the back patio just enjoying the cooler weather. They were happy to provide area information and "even a ride" to one of the restaurants. We will most definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemont, MD
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in July 2012. I had been to many B&B's over the years, but it was my new husbands first time. He was a bit hesitant about staying in a B&B, (he is a typical man) but quickly overcame his reservations when we arrived and he saw all of the amazing ammenities that Carolyn and Dina had to offer for us. This is one of the nicest, most relaxing B&B's I have ever stayed in. Carolyn and Dina are fantastic hosts and they offer so many "extras" that you just do not get at other places. Not only are the breakfasts the BEST I have ever had at a B&B, the afternoon snack, the little room for guests to enjoy coffee, sodas, popcorn, etc..was such a nice touch. Love the Keurig! We stayed here in hopes of eloping on our vacation, and were pleasantly surprised to find that Carolyn is also a licensed officiate who can even perform your marriage. So many nice surprises here! You just cannot go wrong! We will DEFINATELY return!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Plantation Room. It was wonderful to enjoy the large jetted tub at the end of a lon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brookside Mountain Mist Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Mountain Mist Inn

Address: 142 Country Club Dr., Waynesville, NC 28786
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brookside Mountain Mist Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique, single-story, ranch-style Inn combines luxury and elegance with just a touch of rustic charm. Experience the Smoky Mountains with all the comforts of home in our oversized, well-appointed guestrooms. Come for the scenery, stay for the adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brookside Mountain Mist Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookside Mountain Mist Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.