We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and products” 5 of 5 stars
Review of REAL Watersports

REAL Watersports
25706 NC 12 Hwy, Waves, Hatteras Island, NC 27982
252 987 6000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Waves
Type: Water sports, Classes/Workshops, Adventure
Attraction details
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great service and products”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I rented a longboard from REAL. The staff were very knowledgeable and professional, and helped me set up my roof racks so I could transport the surfboard. This is one of the best surf shops I've ever been in; it compares to HSS (Huntington Surf Shop). Many surfboard rental shops only rent "beater boards" or soft top boards; this shop rents top quality hard tops.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    4
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the complete package”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The folks at REAL Watersports have their act together. Very well-organized approach to teaching new kiteboarders. Either they pick great employees or train them well because everyone in the organization is friendly, helpful, and positive. The food servers, retail store staff, the kiteboarding coaches and ownership team are clearly committed to providing an unforgettable experience.

Private lessons are the way to go if you can afford them. My experience was that learning to kiteboard requires lots of time with a kite and the private lessons provide that intensity. The place is crawling with gear, boarders of every ability, coaches and great boarding terrain right off the dock. Since they have a captive audience REAL could get away with mediocre food but instead they provide a great product. Their breakfast selection is thin and starts late (9:00 am) but the cooking facilities at REAL (assuming you stay in the Waterman's Retreat) are first class so it's easy to whip up your own breakfast. The lunches are fresh and well-priced. I lived for that Ahi tuna wrap with citrus cole slaw after a hard morning of boarding. Good food and drink specials too.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Experience at REAL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Mid May 2014 I booked 3 days of private lessons. one day was no wind but it was nice to take a break. I would only do the private lessons...if you seriously want to maximize your kite learning do the private lessons!! Everyone one at REAL was so nice and knowledgeable! no intimidation factor at all!! equipment selection was AMAZING. Lots of great action and energy around the REAL lesson area....it was awesome. Place was immaculately maintained!!

Coach(Breneden) was great. very patient and knowledgeable about kiting...really helped me progress in a short time....all of the equipment that we used was top notch and in great condition! all 2014 stuff..I ended up buying a kite package at the end and got a great deal.

We loved Watermen's Bar and Grill. great fun great food and great action just hanging out and looking at the REAL lesson area.

stayed at Watermen's Retreat next door. It was great also...so convenient and nice.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor Customer Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed for a week at REAL Watersports in mid September, our group rented two 3 BR condos, due poor wind, we rented surf boards from their rental center for a week. 4 days into the rental, the "foamy" board broke. We had purchased the insurance and thought, "thank goodness". When we returned to the shop, the 1st rental shop stated our exact thoughts, "good thing you bought the insurance". The shop manager stepped in a told us the insurance actually did not cover breakage!!! What.... oh we didn't read the fine print.....

Initially, REAL was going to charge us for the full retail price on the board. We asked to talk to the general manager. The shop manager went off to discuss the situation. He returned that said the best he could do was charge us their cost on the board.

1. It should have been clearly explained that the insurance did not cover breakage (BTW, I wonder what it could cover, how much damage, beside breakage, could be done to a foam surf board)
2. No consideration was given that six of us have rented two condos for a week, eaten in their restaurant/bar, and shopped and bought gear in their shop.
3. The board we rented was probably read for retirement anyway, we saw the same board in a rental shop down the beach being sold for the same amount we paid to rent the board for a week.

REAL has a great spot and very nice condos, however, they could use a few lessons in customer service. We flew across the country and planned a week at their resort, had we been treated better, REAL would be seeing a lot more of our money and strong recommendations, as it is they will get neither!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to kiteboard!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

REAL Watersports is a top notch waterfront location to kiteboard. My husband had a great instructor, Andrew, and had an awesome 2 day lesson experience.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to REAL Watersports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage REAL Watersports, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.