We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is off the hook” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Watermen's Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waves
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Watermen's Retreat
Save
You added Watermen's Retreat to your Saves list
25682 Highway 12, Waves, Hatteras Island, NC 27982   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Save $100 on First Visit
Porland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“This place is off the hook”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Excellent location and friendly staff. If you looking to be right on the water and at the center of all the kiteboarding action this is the place to be.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
9
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

This is our 2nd stay at Watermen's and I will definitely be back in 2012. We are a kiteboarding family and this place has it all. Great location in front of the world famous slick, beautiful lawn to set up your equipment (bent grass, compressors, sand bags, etc.), rental shop, lockers, showers, biggest watersports store in the OBX, Mojo's cafe, terrasse, etc...). What about the Watermen's condo, simply beautiful, I felt like I wanted to stay there forever.
Thanks to Donna, Matt and Kriss!
Mario

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

My friends and I came to Waves to enjoy the wind and surf for which Cape Hatteras is recognized around the world. We have stayed in rental houses in the area before, but now that we have experienced Watermen's Retreat we will certainly be returning guests. The service was friendly, the condo unit was well equipped, sophisticated in its design and impeccably clean. I would recommend the units facing Pamlico Sound - watching the kiteboarding action on the water and the breathtaking sunsets are worth the slightly higher rate.

Since we arrived late at night we were able to arrange for groceries to be delivered to our room. This option made the next morning much easier and enjoyable!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Watermen's Retreat has it all. Beautifully appointed rooms overlooking Pamlico Sound...right next to REAL Water Sports. This is no B&B! Check out Mo Jo's for apres kite boarding - next door. Music and good, fresh grub. Brew! A wonderful, memorable week.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

We stayed at Watermen's Retreat over the holidays and truly enjoyed the views, high end accommodation. My fiancé and I are going to get married on the waterfront lawn in April! We were blown away by the upkeep of the facility. There is everything we need for our events.....power, water, restrooms, restaurant, watersports, event lawns, retail and amazing accommodations. It took my high stress wedding planning to comfortable fun, all in one place solution. We are really looking forward to coming back and celebrating with our families here!!!!!

Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safety Harbor, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

Waternan's Retreat is absolutely gorgeous! The decor is top quality with nothing spared.. Luxury condo living overlooking the water in the Cape Hatteras area. The restaurant on site is terrific with a wide selection of healthy tasty food and the staff is friendly and accomodating. The quality of the condos appears to be superior to anything else in the area!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

Highly recommend for anyone desiring to engage in water sports or just some time at the beach. Beautiful facility -- spacious, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Watermen's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermen's Retreat

Address: 25682 Highway 12, Waves, Hatteras Island, NC 27982
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Waves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Waves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watermen’s Retreat is designed with three living floors, all with breathtaking views of the Pamlico Sound and Atlantic Ocean. The first floor consists of six 1,000 sq ft, 2 bedroom/1.5 bathroom units. The 2nd and 3rd floors have larger spaces with four 1,500 sq ft 3 bedroom/2.5 bathroom units on each floor. Whether you choose “Waterfront” or “Waterview,” you will be treated to plenty of Pamlico Sound and Atlantic Ocean views and the best sunrises and sunsets on the planet! All Watermen's Retreat Condominiums feature: Teak Floors, Tile Bathrooms, Carpet Bedroom (all new), 2 or 3 Bedrooms, all with king and queen sized beds. Full Kitchen with Granite Cocktail Bar, Great Room with Leather Furniture and Waterviews, Flat Screen TVs, DVD, CD and MP3 Stereo, Wireless Internet, Waterfront and/or Waterview Decks, Gear Storage, Covered Parking and Elevator. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watermen's Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.