We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HAD NO PROBLEMS!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1636 Carolina Ave., Washington, NC 27889   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Washington
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“HAD NO PROBLEMS!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed here for a night and the front was more than accommodating and helpful even though I didn't have a reservation. Even better I was able to a good room that had a very comfortable bed. I definitely would stay here again the next time I'm in this area.

KC

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
18
16
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

There was a young lady at the desk (Tina?) when we arrived in town. We were on our way home from the beach but couldnt drive any farther and decided to stay in Washington. Were glad we did!! The young lady greeted us with a smile as soon as we walked in the front door, got us checked into our room, gave us dinner suggestions, by the way Grubb Brothers is great, and even called to see if we needed anything else when we arrived from dinner. The beds were real comfortable and the rooms were very clean. In the morning, on our way out the same young lady was working the desk. The lady that took care of the breakfast we such a delight. Her name was Evelyn. These ladies went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure my wife and I were comfortable and happy. We will be coming back to visit and will definitely be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Given the choices of hotels we saw in Washington, this was the only hotel I would have stayed in. That is why I gave it very good rating. The ladies at the front desk were very welcoming. The rooms were clean. The decor/breakfast was not as nice as other Comfort Inns we have stayed in recently, but I bet there are far fewer travelers to Wasington vs Charleston. Note: the historic part of town seemed cute, but is closed down on Sundays--even in summer! The Estuary Museum we would have gone to, but is closed on Monday also.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Small, clean room and tiny pool. Breakfast was the bare minimum, with only one pot of coffee at a time.Small work-out facility. Close (1 hour ) from Swan Court Ferry. Very inexpensive ....so a good value. Good local places to eat in Washington.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here on our way to and back from the Outer Banks. I would have given iit an average on the way there. I believe the manager was working that morning when we were checking out and was very friendly. On our way home the lady working at the front desk was standing outside the door we had to enter to check in, smoking. We stayed in room 116 and the bathroom showe curtain was gross and the floor was dirty!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The hotel is located at the main street and you cannot miss it.

It was a first, when the receptionist came out with a trolley cart-to meet me (we had parked in the handicap parking-lot). Really nice! We are driving across the USA for 8 weeks, so our car is really “stuffed”. This is kind of people is what Choice management should consider for more responsibility. (I cannot help it, - I like people when they appear smart and look fit, - a role model in short...).

The room was nice in red color. The toilette/bath and the washbasin are separate. The AC unit smelled of "damp basement" but it worked. I am allergic to spores, but I did not get sick. It is probably not something contagious? A thorough cleaning of the AC would probably do the trick? The toilette chair was loose, not quite a rocking chair, but you get the drift?

Sometimes we go to a nearby restaurant, - like we did twice to the same “joint” in Rehoboth Beach, DE, but we may also grab a meal at Walmart to divulge in our room. We did just that at the Walmart almost next door to the hotel and enjoyed the evening in our room.

The exercise room is small, but there is water and a towel. There were no swipes to clean the equipment. It was not possible to start the display on one of the items. The treadmill worked fine.

Even if there were hiccups, much of that can be excused when met with the welcome and assistance we received in the evening of May 8th. We slept extremely well, but I could faintly hear the traffic on highway 17 in the morning. In short; “an enjoyable stay for the price”. Many others apparently meant the same; it was full for days to come.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Jule Mackenzie runs a great hotel! When my husband and I were traveling through Washington we felt safe, rooms were clean and he recommended a great place to dine.
Since then we have recommended the Comfort Inn. We were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 1636 Carolina Ave., Washington, NC 27889
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Washington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Washington
Washington Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.