We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Treatment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Moss House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Moss House
Save
You added The Moss House to your Saves list
129 Van Norden Street, Washington, NC 27889   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Washington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Bath, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First Class Treatment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Becky and Scott are first class Innkeepers and will make sure that your stay meets all your expectations. I have referred several friends and clients to The Moss House and I am always confident that they will have a wonderful stay. I truly recommend the Moss House for all your travel needs.

Room Tip: All rooms are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
67
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harkers Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

I stayed at the Moss House for 1 night in August, while in the area on business. The place was lovely and very comfortable. It was 100 degrees outside, but comfortably air conditioned inside. Rooms were artfully furnished and the bed was very comfortable. Everything was spotlessly clean, and the wifi worked perfectly. The owner made me feel right at home. She was gracious and friendly and cooked a delicious breakfast. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Moss House for a nice weekend getaway. The Moss House is an easy walk to the waterfront, the local shops, and most of the local restaurants. The innkeeper, Becky, was very warm and gladly answered questions about activities, restaurants, and things to do. The rooms were very nice with comfortable beds. Breakfast was quite nice. We would recommend The Moss House.

Room Tip: Offers AAA discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

I took my 9-year-old granddaughter to visit historical spots in NC as a prelude to grade 4. One of those was the marvelous Estuarium in Washington so I searched for another new experience for her with a stay in a bed and breakfast. After investigating, I selected The Moss House Inn and it was a perfect choice, small, warm, and welcoming in every way. She was totally delighted when she met Bella, the inn dog who was friendly and lovable, and still hasn't stopped talking about being asked by Beckie what she would like for breakfast and it all appeared...orange juice, fresh fruit, bacon, and waffles (heart-shaped no less). I loved the comfortable bed, private bath, off-street parking, in-room cable tv, and the array of items for a visitor's every need. For Sarah (and me) it was like a lovely visit to a favorite relative's home. We shall return!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

We generally do not stay in B&Bs, but with nothing but low end hotels in this area we gave in. Even though I like less chatting than one needs to do in a B&B, the hosts of the Moss House are pretty good at leaving you alone, albeit in a friendly manner. The room was great, the bed was comfy (very important) and breakfast superb. Since the restaurants in Washington are terrible, I only wish Becky offered dinner. We certainly would have taken her up on it!

Room Tip: Really the only place you want to stay in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We were in town for a Wedding a few miles away, and decided to forgo the typical chain hotel and try our first B&B...and the experience couldn't have been better. Both Beckie and Scott were tremendously welcoming, and provided great suggestions of things to do around the area. The house itself is very beautiful, and our room (The Anchorage) was very clean, comfy, and beautiful. We stayed for breakfast, and both breakfasts were VERY good. Many of the other couples we met while there were return customers - which we hope to be as well some day. We were fortunate to be there during an antique car festival in Washington, which was pretty neat. The river walk is a short walk from the Moss House, and is a pretty neat place. The Moss House Inn is a great place to stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in The Anchorage
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Chose to stay at the Moss House based on previous positive reviews and were not dissappointed. Innkeepers met us upon arrival and gave a warm welcome. Very helpful with ideas on where to eat and what to do in the area. Room was very spacious and comfortable. Breakfasts were very tasty and had great presentation, did not leave the table hungry. Location very close to downtown historical areas and waterfront. Also loved visiting with the innkeepers. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Moss House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moss House

Address: 129 Van Norden Street, Washington, NC 27889
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Washington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer our guests gracious hospitality with a casual eclectic style, in the Heart of the Inner Banks of Washington NC. One block from downtown and the Pamlico River our four guestrooms, each with en-suite bath and comforting amenities like extra pillows and central AC let you relax and rest in comfort. We offer free WiFi, flat-screen TV's in each room and DVD players too. We are a "green-wise" B&B with your comfort in mind. Enjoy a rocker on the veranda and a full delicious breakfast, we shop locally and have great farms here. We offer our own "Moss House Blend" fresh ground coffee( free trade from Cackalacky Coffee in Rocky Mount). Come visit us soon! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Moss House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.