We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view of outer banks...steamers? oysters? not so much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fisherman's Wharf Restaurant

Fisherman's Wharf Restaurant
4683 Mill Landing Rd., Wanchese, Roanoke Island, NC 27981
252-473-6004
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Wanchese
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice view of outer banks...steamers? oysters? not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This just wasn't what we had in mind for a "seafood" restaurant...they don't have a raw bar license so no oysters on the half-shell...no steamed anything. Ended up ordering pasta which was very bland and a fried flounder sandwich (skin left on and over-cooked) Left there feeling pretty dissappointed as this place was referred to us. Live and learn.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    57
    16
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Sort of looks like an old warehouse that's seen better days from the outside.
It's right in the middle of the docks for the commercial fisherman so I was expecting something special when it came to the sea food.
Once you got inside it was nice, clean and bright, but had a funky smell.
The waitress was very nice.
We had she crab soup which tasted good but was short on crab.
The hush puppy's were great!
I had the sea food platter, but it was popcorn shrimp, flounder and scallop's the size of a pencil eraser.
Everything was lightly breaded and golden brown, just a miniature version of what I had expected considering the area we where in.
Just over $30.00 for lunch for 2.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karthaus, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Better than Average, but not as Great as the view & GET the KLP”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Not really the "Very Good" marked above, but better than Average. I guess it depends on how busy it is and what you order. We arrived for Lunch last week while 2 large groups were being served....we did not wait long, but I'd say food quality may have been strained. My scallop chowder lacked scallops....my fries (fish & chips) were not very good. The fish was good though. On the other hand my wife's hand made chips were great and the (home-made ?) cocktail sauce was "terrific." The KEY LIME PIE is to DIE FOR......GET IT if nothing else!!!!! Our server Katie was Super!!!! Prices are OK for a resort area...Somebody please tell the bus-persons to please be just al little quieter when cleaning up, OK? ..You get a 10% discount on seafood sales next door, so buy some shrimp or fish too....:-)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth the drive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Food was excellent! I had the crab stuffed shrimp, people at my table had fish, scallops, crab cakes. Everything was delicious...and we're seafood eaters so we are very picky. Two meals with two appetizers was about $65.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It was average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Went based on the good reviews. Not a lot of selections on the menu. The food had a pretty good taste but portions size wasn't as much as I had on previous visits at other restaurants. If you are looking for pretty good food but not looking to fill up. This is your place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherman's Wharf Restaurant also viewed

Wanchese, Roanoke Island
 

Been to Fisherman's Wharf Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fisherman's Wharf Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.