We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Outer Banks Paradise Dolphin Cruises on the Kokomo-Day Boat Tour
4457 Mill Landing Road, Wanchese, NC 27981
252-573-0547
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 attractions in Wanchese
Type: Boat Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Kokomo boards in Wanchese on the Outer Banks and cruises the scenic Roanoke Sound in exploration of the magnificent paradise we call home. Our North Carolina shores offer breathtaking beauty that becomes a serene portrait aboard the Kokomo. Our goal for our guests is to search for bottlenose dolphins and local species of birds while taking pleasure in the splendid scenery along the way.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not worth the time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Went out despite rough seas. No sittings for over an hour and lots of rough, wet conditions. Questionable facts from mate on how the islands were formed.....man made???? Only saw a couple dolphins at a distance. All got drenched on the way back from rain. Saw more dolphins, closer at the beach swimming.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    3
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awe inspiring bit of nature at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Absolutely perfect sunset tour. Captain Dave expertly navigated us to two pods of at least 30 dolphins 10 minutes after leaving the dock, where we watched in pure amazement. We were treated to an overload of incredibly close up behaviors (the dolphins were less than 5 feet from the boat at times ) we cheered as the dolphin playfully went about jumping, flipping and even mating with total disregard for the boat for more than an hour. This tour is a perfect opportunity to see dolphins in their natural surroundings without harassing these beautiful creatures. The sunset on the cruse back to the docks was awe inspiring and our family group of 11 is already planning out return dolphin tour with captain Dave next year

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“This was the unexpected treat of the vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

First, let me say how friendly, down-to-earth, and competent the Skipper of the Kokomo was. former Coast Guard, soft-spoken and very cool. A real family operation. The cruise was perect: calm water on the sound, lots of local feel and no eye-rolling "heard that question a hundred times you silly tourist" reactions, very genuine people. But we went to see dolphins! And boy did we. Set your expectations at a reasonable level. It's not Sea World. They don't flip out of the water and beg for sardines at the side of the boat. But, if you are lucky, you will get some really great memories for young and old. The Skipper said we had gotten a very good show, that it can be hit or miss, but so what? It's wildlife, they don't pose and keep a regular schedule. The cruise would have been fun without the dolphins, but they really are wonderful to see doing their thing, which involves eating, mating, and showing off for each other. For 15 bucks, or even 20 if you buy from another party like Kitty Hawk Water Sports, it's totally worth it. Do the sunset trip for the added spectacular views from the water.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“1st visit to OBX”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Paradise Dolphin Tour was fun, but if you decide to go on this tour, be prepared to not get a close up view on the dolphins. We did see dolphins but only their fins. they never came close up to the boat for us to get a good look. the captain and staff were very gracious and very knowledgable about the area and wildlife. If you do go, recommend going on a Monday and use their coupon for the $15 tour.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Paradise Dolphon Cruises exceeded our expectations for a recent dolphin watching tour. For the $15 tour, we definitely got our money's worth. As we approached Wanchese from the north, we could see that it was storming pretty badly. We were worried that we wouldn't be going out. They handled this so well: they suggested a couple of other things for us to do (such as a small touch tank down the road that the kids enjoyed) while waiting for the weather to turn. In addition, they didn't ask for the money until they were sure we would be going out and kept us very politely informed as to what was happening with the weather.

I should add that the boat is a good sized pontoon boat--there is a small bathroom onboard and it has enough room for about 40-50 people although it was maybe at half capacity.

We didn't expect much on this cruise; I was doubtful that we would see any dolphins, as we were the first boat out, and the storms meant that most of the fishing boats were already in when we began our cruise. The first forty minutes or so were spent go around the Roanoke Sound without spotting a dolphin. Both the Captain and the Mate gave interesting insights about the surrounding area. Then we came across boat from another tour that had evidently discovered a pod of dolphins. We followed this pod of about 15-20 dolphin for the next fifty minutes, and they were very entertaining!

All in all, it was a great trip. I don't think any tour can really guarantee a dolphin sighting, but I definitely valued the professionalism of this tour group.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outer Banks Paradise Dolphin Cruises on the Kokomo-Day Boat Tour also viewed

 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
Manteo, Outer Banks
 

Been to Outer Banks Paradise Dolphin Cruises on the Kokomo-Day Boat Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outer Banks Paradise Dolphin Cruises on the Kokomo-Day Boat Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Outer Banks Paradise Dolphin Cruises on the Kokomo-Day Boat Tour to your Saves list