We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Wallace

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Wallace to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Wallace
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131 River Village Place, @ River Landing, Wallace, NC 28466   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wallace
Douglas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellant Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was my first time staying at this hotel. The outside of the hotel impressed me. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and made you feel welcome. This hotel was a short distance from the business that I was working at and the access to the interstate was great.
This was one of the best Holiday Inns that I've stayed at and I'm usually in a Holiday Inn property at least 20 times a month.
The only complaint that I might have is the pillows. They could have been a little firmer.

Other than the pillows a "Great Hotel".

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    12
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
15
9
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Very average Holiday Inn. Hallway is worn and smells like old cigarette smoke. I stayed in an alcove room, so the space was good with fridge, but the furniture and bath were very worn and tired looking. Everyone in the lobby who had cell service with AT&T complained of no service in the hotel...true for me too! So, if you have AT&T and need service keep on driving! Not many options in the area so I moved on to Wilmington where there are many options for hotels. The Mad Boar restaurant next door is really good, but probably would not stay here again. Not terrible, but a little below average from the hotels I usually stay in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wallace, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear CherylOrlando,

Thank you for your stay and taking the time to share your experience. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am deeply sorry that you found your stay less than satisfactory due to the condition of the hallways and unavailability of cell service. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Once again many thanks for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabeth city, nc
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here for a party next door at the Mad Boar. The $99 standard rate would have been a bit pricey, but fortunately we got a discount because of attending the party.

The staff was friendly and helpful.

The room was comfortable, and very clean. Sleep quality was good, but I was awakened by the heavy-footed occupant of the room above me.

Breakfast consisted of the usual Danish/bagels, plus sausage, pre-cooked eggs, pancakes, and biscuits with sausage gravy. Served in a very nice and clean dining area. I'd rate it as 8/10.

The ONLY coke machine was broken, and my wife could not get sufficient hot water for a shower.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmo, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My son and I attended a funeral in the area and reserved one night at this property with two rooms...alcove suites....from check in to check out the staff was most accommodating and friendly....On the morning of the funeral I checked with the front desk to see if we could extend check out time for one of the suites so we would have a place to change after the graveside service....Johnny was most accommodating and did what he could to assist us with the request...I please to deal with folks like him as well as the other desk assistants working throughout the time that we were there.....the morning breakfast was great as was the lady who took care of the breakfast bar......I would have no problem recommending this property..

Room Tip: The alcove suites are nice with two TV's and a work desk as well as a couch in the alcove part o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Va
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I've been coming to this motel four or five times a year for over 20 years. The rates are reasonable and the rooms large and clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. It is located next to the Mad Boar restaurant and banquet hall which attracts a lot of Saturday weddings but its always been quiet. Lacks a pool so kids may be disappointed, but has a nice gym and business center. Just off the interstate but no noticeable road noise.Landscaped with well trimmed shrubs and year round flowers.
I recommend highly for business travelers or adults on their own.
Note - it is located across the street from the consistently most expensive gas in North Carolina.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back probably the quietest. In the front - the best cell phone reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
189 hotel reviews
Reviews in 176 cities Reviews in 176 cities
775 helpful votes 775 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Arrived in the middle of a heavy thunderstorm and immediately I noticed this property was a bit different than most other (dull) HIE property layouts. It was a very nice and welcoming change. The girl at check-in was very friendly, polite and efficient, she offered a complimentary suite upgrade, which of course I accepted. The suite was very spacious, not the newest or the most stylish in terms of furniture, but still in good condition, comfortable and clean. My only complaint is the ice machine located right across the hallway. It could be heard throughout the night, when guests were pouring ice from it. The breakfast room is very nice and different too, but somewhat limited in seating capacity. All in all a very good stay, just what you expect from a HIE.

Room Tip: try getting a room/suite away from the ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

this is right off I 40, half hour from Wilmington Old Town. The restaurant next door looked nice but closed Mon. & Tuesday ( my 2 night in the area). Requested frig as no decent restaurants for 1/2 hour away, no frig or microwave available. 2nd floor was no smoking, but ice machine broke so down to lobby for ice to keep drinks cold. If you wander into Wallace avoid Country Kitchen, a buffet of over fried food.$104. a night. After 2 nights I moved to Hilton Riverside in Wilmington, only $91 on water, steak house and starbucks on site, actually on riverfront sidewalk to explore old town. An easy drive to Burgaw, Wallace and the airport. I really messed up staying and eating in Wallace! Hope this helps someone else...

Room Tip: 2nd floor no smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Wallace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Wallace

Address: 131 River Village Place, @ River Landing, Wallace, NC 28466
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wallace
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wallace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Wallace 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wallace is conveniently located off exit 385 (I-40), Hwy 41 east, .25 mi. on the right, next door to the Mad Boar Restaurant and Olde Worlde Pub. We offer 55 guest rooms and 15 suites. All rooms are king or double queens. Hotel features include complimentary Continental breakfast (6:30 - 9:30 a.m.), free local phone calls, fitness center and wireless Wi-fi Internet services. Visit Wallace, NC and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, an Award Winning Hotel.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Wallace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Wallace Hotel Wallace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Wallace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;