We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food is fare but overpriced for the food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shuckers Oyster Bar & Grill

Shuckers Oyster Bar & Grill
3309 Rogers Rd, Ste 245, Wake Forest, NC 27587-3945
919-453-1593
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 116 Restaurants in Wake Forest
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“The food is fare but overpriced for the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The seating is tight for the space. The bar is small and the bartenders are sub par. the Oysters are good if you sit at the oyster bar but those also are overpriced.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    51
    16
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Shucker's has moved---great menu and surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

When our son moved to Wake Forest he discovered the new Shuckers, located on Roger's Road. On our first visit to him, he insisted that we try Shucker's. The food is wonderful, the atmosphere is wonderful, and the staff is very friendly. The menu offers more than fried fish and shucked oysters. If you went to the old one on Capital Blvd., you are in for a pleasant surprise.
We continue to go to Shucker's since our move to Raleigh.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia PA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good Selection of Draft Beers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Nothing beats cold beer and seafood after a long day. The service was friendly and attentive. There are several beers on tap. The fried okra was tasty and not over cooked, but the hush puppies were (over cooked that is).

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Our go-to restaurant around Raleigh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This trendy, yummy restaurant has an awesome outdoor dining area to complement its large indoor dining room, bar, and raw bar. The food is always delicious, particularly the fried asparagus, any of their scallop dishes, and their seafood pasta. My husband and I turn to Shuckers for almost any special occasion, especially when we have friends and family in town. As for dessert - say yes to the key lime (extra whip cream!), and no to the super syrupy strawberry shortcake.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AAA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Absolutely Always Amazing! Great food, hushpuppies are just right and addictive and the cocktails are pour just right. Servers are friendly and thoughtful. Can't wait until my teenager is old enough to drive me there and pick me back up.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shuckers Oyster Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Shuckers Oyster Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shuckers Oyster Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.