We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Italian food.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Girasole Trattoria - CLOSED

Girasole Trattoria
960 Gateway Commons Circle, Wake Forest, NC 27587
9195-696-714
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Girasole is an upscale, yet modestly priced restaurant and bar, serving Northern Italian inspired creative dishes, such as grilled meats, rotisserie chicken, fresh fish, and pasta, flavored with herbs grown in the large garden adjacent to the restaurant. The space features an intimate bar and lounge, a wood-fired oven and open kitchen and seating for 75 patrons. Outside the restaurant is a covered garden and patio. Girasole is owned by Giorgios Bakatsias, who has created some of the Triangle’s most notable restaurants, among them are Parizade, Vita and Vin Rouge in Durham, and Bin 54 and Spice Street in Chapel Hill.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Poor Italian food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Not impressed with the food, had several dishes in our party ans I had the lasagna and it was like it was out of a can..too much of the wrong cheese melted over top, sauce was poor.

We can only say the desert was fair..Service was ok!

Sorry not my type .

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    7
    7
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Poor menu below average food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The menu is limited and the service is below average. The owner thinks he is all that. The problem is what is that. I think it is what is stuck to the bottom of your shoe. Very over priced for the food. The rest. is very loud and there is no privacy. If you like it here you would love mcdonalds plus $20

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“7/20/2012 visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

My first review of this restaurant was great. However my recent visits have really disappointed. I've eaten here many times, but the chefs and wait staff have changed. The food and service have really been lacking. Until things change, sadly, I won't be going back.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
“Had big expectations...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

(see explanation of ratings below)

Read their menu on-line and was intrigued by the app Shrimp Limoncello: shrimp, shallots, scallions, and limoncello liqueur. It lacked pop. Had to add cheese and salt to finish the dish.

In fact, three of the four dishes we had lacked flavor.

Pizza with shrimp, goat cheese, garlic oil, arugala and ricotta salata needed some lemon. Lemon segments, lemon pepper or even just a squirt of lemon would have done the trick.

Pizza crust is average. Reminded me of a cracker crust.

Good service. Great prices.

About my ratings:

Only fine dining establishments can garner five stars. Until TripAdvisor realizes that a fast food joint cannot possibly be ranked equally with a $100 per person place, I need to draw the line somewhere. If we were only talking about the quality and presentation of the food, it would be a different story. But, as we know, TripAdvisor's rankings take into account the entire dining experience.

Therefore, I divide restaurants into three categories (and I wish TripAdvisor would do the same):

1) fast food (no table service)

2) casual dining (table service)

3) fine dining (linen napkins, no plastic cups, no TV's in dining room, typically more expensive than casual dining)

Fine dining can earn a max of five stars. Casual dining can earn a max of four stars. Fast food can earn a max of three stars.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, North Carolina
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I enjoyed Girasole with my wife, sister and two friends. All of us enjoyed our food. I know mine was excellent and the presentation was well done. But - it is VERY pricey and the restaurant is too loud. Nice decor but too noisy.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Girasole Trattoria also viewed

 
Wake Forest, NC
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Girasole Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.