We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mast Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Mast Farm Inn to your Saves list
The Mast Farm Inn
2543 Broadstone Road, PO Box 704, Valle Crucis, NC 28691   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
7 TripAdvisor Exclusives
Ranked #2 of 8 Valle Crucis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Absolute Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

This was our sixth visit in the last 15 years, we love this place. However, it has been about five or six years since we have visited. I must say, this was our best visit ever! The rooms and cottages have all been upgraded, the dinners and breakfasts were fantastic and the service was over the top! My wife loved the new linens! Hats off to Danielle for such personal and total attention to our every need. We stayed in the maple springs cottage with our friends across the way in the Gazebo cottage. What fun we had! Spent evenings after walking down to a great dinner at the main house in the jacuzzi drinking wine! Our friends are vegans and the chef did everything so well in adjusting the menu for them, thanks so much! Overall such a terrific visit that we shall be back again shortly! Thanks to the entire staff for their hospitality!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    32
    9
    7
    1
See reviews for
57
209
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wellman, Iowa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was originally my families property. The Loom House was the original cabin where generations ago my Mast ancestors lived. It had always been my dream to visit there. I must say the innkeepers were exceptionally kind to me.

I stayed in the Loom House and would have slept wonderfully if I hadn't been so busy running my fingers over the logs my ancestors cut. I thought all night about what they might have thought about what became of their homestead. I believe they'd be pleased. I'm not sure about the hot tub in the living room though :)

The breakfast was nothing short of amazing. The grounds were beautifully kept and my daughter and I had fun visiting the bunnies.

I feel as though not only did I discover more of my heritage, I made some new friends. Thanks so much for keeping my family history alive and well.

It's THE stop for a Watauga County Mast genealogist as the family cemetery is just a few steps away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Falls NC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Mast Farm Inn on New Year's Eve and had dinner there. We will definitely return, thanks to the wonderful experience we had. Our room, Nell's Room, was spacious, beautifully decorated, and clean. The king-sized bed was comfortable, and even though the inn was completely full, the room was quiet. We slept SO well! Free WiFi is available, and our room had multiple outlets for charging our phones/Kindles. The New Year's Eve meal was one of the best meals we have ever had...we enjoyed the food by the inn's chef when he worked at Storie Street Grille in Blowing Rock, and his cooking was one of the reasons we wanted to stay at the Mast Farm Inn.
Excellent wine choices were paired with our meals. We chose the exquisite filet mignon as our main course. Our server was attentive and gladly talked to us about the inn's history. Breakfast (blueberry pancakes) was included in the price of the stay. Overall, this was one of the best stays we have ever had in ANY hotel. The prices were plainly posted on the website, and we hope to stay in one of the cottages next time. Great job, historic Mast Farm Inn, great job.

Room Tip: Remember that this is a historic house. We had a room on the second floor and were mindful of our n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
450 reviews 450 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I have stayed here in the past and it was heavenly but this visit we just had our Thanksgiving meal here. It was a busy night but they did an awesome job.

Inspired: Service was impeccable

Pro: friendly staff, food, facility, location, atmosphere was wonderful

Con: a little noisy but not much fabric made it that way

Room Tip: Any room would be awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Mast Farm Inn for a few nights in October. It was a very nice experience, as it is a wonderfully restored farm house, converted into a B&B. Breakfasts were very good, contributing to the quality of the stay. Room was very nice, albeit a bit rustic, which is in keeping with the ambiance. No televisions, and no staff around after 1900 each evening, which seemed a bit odd, but was clearly advertised. Didn't get to eat dinner there, as the restaurant is only open certain nights. A very enjoyable stay, would go back to again. Close proximity to Boone, Blowing Rock, and other beautiful western NC towns.

Room Tip: Stay in the Inn, unless you like a more rustic feel of the log cabins. Perhaps, get a room farther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a wonderful place to spend a fall weekend in North Carolina. Great location, wonderful service, beautiful home, and amazing food!! Our room was one of the front rooms and we had a great view of the Inn's garden and the wonderful fall color of the mountains. Breakfast was so delicious and very filling. We loved our server, Christina. Make sure to book dinner reservations... yum. I had the vegetarian special and my husband ordered the pork chop and brussel sprouts. Both were wonderful with fresh local produce. Very convient location to Boone, Valle Crucis and other surrounding areas. If you go in October don't miss the Valle Country Fair. Also a visit to the Boone Farmers Market is worth your time. Or you can just sit on the porch of the Mast Farm Inn and enjoy the weather.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a beautiful place with historic buildings; we stayed in the Loom House, which has been tastefully modernized without marring its character. It was quiet, beautiful, comfortable in an interesting old valley with art galleries, hikes, great scenery, shopping -- just enough to do without sacrificing an afternoon nap. The days were sunny & warm, the nights cool but the gorgeous quilts on the bed kept things snuggly & warm. We loved touring around the area, looking at the fall leaves & historic buildings and some great art galleries & craft showrooms. The attentive staff were superb, It was a absolute winner!

Room Tip: The Loom House was a little dark because log cabins don't have huge windows but they kept the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mast Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mast Farm Inn

Address: 2543 Broadstone Road, PO Box 704, Valle Crucis, NC 28691
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Valle Crucis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Valle Crucis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mast Farm Inn is an award-winning historic country inn & restaurant in the Valle Crucis Historical District of North Carolina, which has been welcoming guests since the 1800s; A Historic Hotels of America hotel, a Select Registry Inn, and on The National Register of Historic Places. So Much More… The world renowned Mast Farm Inn of Valle Crucis is nothing short of a handcrafted masterpiece of North Carolina Folk Art ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Expedia so you can book your The Mast Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mast Farm Hotel Valle Crucis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mast Farm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.