We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mast Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Mast Farm Inn to your Saves list
The Mast Farm Inn
2543 Broadstone Road, PO Box 704, Valle Crucis, NC 28691   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Valle Crucis B&B and Inns
Dallas, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Anniversary getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Just stayed 2 nights at the Mast Farm Inn and had such a wonderful visit. This was our 4th stay since 1986 and it gets better every year. The food is outstanding and the staff are warm and friendly the moment you walk in the door! Every time we go we do not want to leave!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Wood workers shop and loved it, very cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    31
    9
    7
    1
See reviews for
53
193
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the Mast Farm Inn in August 2012, and loved it! We were in Uncle Earl's cabin and slept with the windows open for the first time in years- no road noise (or air traffic as at home). The food in the restaurant is fabulous, both the breakfast and dinner were first rate. It is casual and upscale all at the same time. It was easy to get to Boone and Banner Elk, and you have to shop at Mast General Store right down the road! What a great family vacation!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My wife and I just finished our eighth and most memorable stay at The Mast Farm Inn and cannot wait to return for our ninth visit next winter! As with a previous Trip Advisor review, The Mast Farm Inn is first class in all areas. What we like best is the personal and kind touch of class which permeates throughout our stay there by Danielle, her warm family and associates. We stayed at the wonderful Loom House and were overwhelmed with the welcome back/celebration "goodies" showered upon us by these gracious hosts. Our 40th wedding anniversary will certainly be well remembered and choosing the Mast Farm Inn over many other places to stay should reaffirm how special this place is for us, but honestly for all guests who are fortunate to visit this exceptionally outstanding Mast Farm Inn. Our stays at The Mast Farm Inn remains one of the best travel experiences of the many we have taken. Not only are the accommodations second to none, the dining there is also first class. The menus for each meal are personalized. Now, that is unique and guests get a kick out of the extra time spent on adding tidbits of information from guests’ hometowns to even hobbies to their menus. Moreover, the food is not only very well prepared but served tastefully with a genuine country home grown theme. I must profess, the meals continue to be impressive visit after visit. The Mast Farm Inn exceeds all standards; I would unhesitatingly refer this superb restaurant and lodging establishment to those travelers out there who want a comfortable stay with these superb innkeepers who truly mean to make their guests feel right at home but at the same time allow the proper space needed by many. The Inn staff has done it right. The innkeeper’s sincerity, friendship, consideration and refreshing kindness is very well appreciated.

Room Tip: Ask for the Loom House!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We just returned from spending one night at the Mast Farm Inn. It was very charming....warm and cozy.....and the staff was friendly. The grounds were beautiful and very well kept.....lots of pretty flowers. The house sits right on the road though and you can hear the sound of traffic. We stayed on the third floor in the Aunt Leona room. It was very charming and loved the bathroom. The floor squeaks very loudly and the bed is not very stable. The 3rd floor smells of moth balls so we cut off our air conditioning and opened our windows to air out our room. When we returned, we closed the windows and turned our air conditioning back on. It would not come back on and the inn had closed.....we called and left a message and also emailed. It was late though so we didn't hear back but when we checked out at 11:00 they apparently had not checked their phone or email messages and were unaware of the problem. They said they were sorry and we should have called the cell phone number provided in the book in the room. The breakfast was all sweets and we are not used to eating alot of pastries, cheese and sweet syrups for breakfast. The bacon was the only thing that was not sweet and it was very greasy. It was not bad.....but not what we had hoped for considering the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We recently returned from our second stay at the Mast Farm Inn and we are definitely planning our third! Besides the charming rooms and cabins, and the extremely relaxing atmosphere, the stand-out feature of this inn is the service. Danielle and her team consistently go out of their way to make sure every guest is happy. This past trip included our three young children and a set of grandparents and our family couldn't have had a more memorable experience. Our only regret was not eating dinner there both nights!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My Mom and I recently went and stayed at the Mast Farm Inn Bed and breakfast, and it was the best bed and Breakfast we have ever been to! The attention to detail they show to you and your stay is wonderful. The Manager Loraine was so sweet and made sure we had everything we needed and personally took time to show us to our room and answer all our questions We stayed in the "Joe Mast" room which is great because it has 2 beds. They had a problem with the reservation we made online for dinner in the dining room, apparently a computer glitch because they didnt recieve it, and she personally went and talked to the chef to see if he could squeeze us into the seating and menu, which he did! Thankfully so because the food is absolutly divine! If you get a chance to go to this fantastic Inn be sure to do so, it is a memory you will always treasure. Every person working there is friendly, polite and happy, and they will go out of their way to handle your requests. We will be returning!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This rural small Inn, located in an 1880s farm house and still owned by the family that built the house, is a peaceful step back in time. The staff is very friendly and helpful - the front desk lady offered to help with our luggage when we checked in. There are rockers on the front porch so you can have your drinks looking out on the lovely narrow valley. The comfy guest lounge is full of books to read. Our room faced the valley and we enjoyed watching the fog lift in the mornings, after the staff arrived with our basket of coffee in a thermos, mugs and the fixings at 8 a.m. Warning - it has a narrow tub with pull around curtain for the shower. Some rooms have stand up shopwers. You can cross the road and stroll down to the bubbling Watauga River, or visit the newly opened store in the barn, selling jams, salsas and other goodies.
Now, eating at the Inn deserves its own paragraph. Breakfast is superb and filling. Samples from two mornings: baked French Toast, ricotta stuffed turnover, old fashioned oatmeal with star anis and cinnamon, country ham, scrambled eggs with cheese, big flat cheese topped biscuit. Dinner was special: cream of yellow squash soup, chicken cacciatore with green and black olives and polenta, and a moist chocolate hummingbird (fruit) cake.

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms facing the valley on the second floor. One is larger than the other, but both n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mast Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mast Farm Inn

Address: 2543 Broadstone Road, PO Box 704, Valle Crucis, NC 28691
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Valle Crucis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Valle Crucis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mast Farm Inn is an award-winning historic country inn & restaurant in the Valle Crucis Historical District of North Carolina, which has been welcoming guests since the 1800s; A Historic Hotels of America hotel, a Select Registry Inn, and on The National Register of Historic Places. So Much More… The world renowned Mast Farm Inn of Valle Crucis is nothing short of a handcrafted masterpiece of North Carolina Folk Art ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your The Mast Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mast Farm Hotel Valle Crucis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mast Farm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.