We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty and Relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy Bear Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Valle Crucis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lazy Bear Lodge
Save
You added Lazy Bear Lodge to your Saves list
315 Lazy Bear Trail, Valle Crucis, NC 28692   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Valle Crucis B&B and Inns
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beauty and Relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I love staying at Lazy Bear Lodge! The owners are fantastic! Anne and Mark are warm and eager to please. They want you to feel at home. Breakfast is always delicious and in nice weather can be eaten out on the deck. Whether you're eating in the cozy dining room or out on the deck, the view of the mountains is gorgeous. I enjoy sitting on the front porch in the swing or in one of the rocking chairs and reading or just listening to the small waterfall. Sound idyllic? It is!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
46
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Beautiful location and landscaped grounds. View from our balcony in the Hummingbird room was breathtaking in the morning. Pecan waffles at breakfast were SOOO good. Beds in our room had foam like cushion pillow top things. We liked this, but may be too soft for some. Inn is clean, rustic country décor, and we heard no noise from adjoining rooms. They accommodated us with a late check-in and helped us find the local coffee brewer where they get their supply from so we could pick up some beans. Just a few things kept us from really loving this place:
1) cigarette butts left from previous lodgers had not been cleaned out of the ashtray on the balcony, 2) the two giant dogs are totally friendly and chill, but they were let into the kitchen, which I'm not wild about, 3) the innkeeper is welcoming and friendly, but almost a bit too informal and casual with guests around, kinda gossipy

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at lazy bear lodge for two nights. This b&b is perfect for anyone. Beautiful rooms,views and a great breakfast. Anne is a wonderful host and so helpful. We loved it and was sorry to leave . there's do much to do in the area, beautiful water falls,grand father mountains.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown NJ
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were visitng the NC mountains for our vacation and made the Lazy Bear Lodge the first stop of the trip after a 10 hour drive. We stayed on the first floor in Black Bear. The room was a very nice size and the bed was very comfortable. Lots of very nice decorative touches in the room as well as the whole Inn. The gardens, pond and view from the deck are beautiful. Loved having our own little private section of deck to sit and have coffee in the morming while viewing the wild life. Breakfast was good. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish, Florida
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I don't easily give 5 star reviews, but Lazy Bear deserves one. Honestly, I can't find anything wrong with the place. My wife is not a big fan of huge dogs, but the two here, Bela and Bo, are so well behaved that they are an enhancement to the inn. Our room is spacious, clean and has a great view. Anne, the innkeeper could not be nicer or more helpful. Breakfast is great, especially if the weather is good and you can eat on the deck. I truly enjoyed viewing the deer, turkey, humming birds and flying squirrels from the deck. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, KY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Beautiful settings, feels remote because is so quiet, yet close to great restaurants and fun outings. Hosts are gracious and accomodating. Rooms are extra comfortable. Everything we were looking for for a 3-day vacation!

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies, others do not but you can hear running water from the room over-looking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, SC USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Had another outstanding time at the Lazy Bear for 5 fun filled days! The accomodations are lovely with heavenly beds, real fireplace in great room and electric ones in room plus comfortable sitting chairs and a great view of the mountains from my balcony. Anne and Mark are wonderful hosts and have delicious breakfasts every day and variety! They are warm, and so helpful in ideas about dining out and outings. I went to the frescoes in West Jefferson and they were so pretty and the old churches were charming. I especially enjoyed the wild game restaurant called the Gamekeeper and the ostrich which was better than steak! I have been going to Lazy Bear for a few years and enjoy it more every year. A must go to place!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great. I especially liked the ones with balconies and views of the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lazy Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Bear Lodge

Address: 315 Lazy Bear Trail, Valle Crucis, NC 28692
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Valle Crucis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Valle Crucis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is a 2-story log cabin with 5 luxurious bedrooms, large comfortable porches, long range sweeping views, and plenty of privacy. The relaxing front porch overlooks a garden and sream, and is just steps away from convenient parking. Sweeping long-range views are found from the two story living room and back porches. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy Bear Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.