We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for everyone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mast General Store

Mast General Store
Valle Crucis, NC
828-963-6511
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Shopping in Valle Crucis
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An old-fashioned country store with many unique items for sale.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

One of our favorite places to visit in the Mountains. We have been several times. One of the best times it started snowing and they have an old Pot belly stove in the center of the store , with rocking chairs to sit around a feel the warmth. The items range from pots ,pans toys clothing and shoes. I can spend hours looking at all the toys that remind me of my childhood.( I grew up in the sixties) and If you go in the spring, summer and of course the fall is a beautiful time to go, you can sit on the porch in the swing and enjoy a RC cola and Moon pie!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    45
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loved It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Highly recommend a visit. Tons of charm. I enjoyed the wide range of items,new and old. If you bring young kids expect to spend some money on candy as they sale it by the bucket full.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A fun and nostalgic visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

It is a lot of fun walking through the many isles of nostalgic items. They even have a working post office! Many games and children's toys that will bring back memories for anyone in their 40's.

Get a bottled coke and a pack of peanuts and sit on the back porch while you are there!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“One of the best things we did”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

While my wife loved the shopping experience, I enjoyed (sorry, shopping isn't my favorite thing in the world) looking at the historical displays and old stuff they have up on the top shelves. You can spend at least an hour here and will enjoy every minute.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“A Step Back in Time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The general store has a bit of everything for adults and the kids. It has a great deal of charm and merchandise.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mast General Store also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Valle Crucis, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Mast General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mast General Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.