We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really unique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mast General Store

Mast General Store
Valle Crucis, NC
Improve this listing
Type: Shops
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: An old-fashioned country store with many unique items for sale.
Melbourne, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Really unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stopped here on our way out of boone and this store has been there for over a 100 years. Real working post office with the original mailboxes.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    30
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern Pines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

The staff was great and the atmosphere was even better. The location in downtown in Boone was close to a lot of other mom & pop shops. Nicole and Logan were very helpful with everything I needed and I will definitely be back.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bend, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“My Son said it Was Candy Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

A walk back in time. Living History to be experienced. You feel like you have pull up in your wagon to restock your supplies. Barrels of Classics and you get to carry your peach basket around and fill full. If you ever wondered how a Child feels when they smile, this place will allow you to experience that.
OMG! You have to try the Maple covered Peanuts!!!!!!!!
Well worth a day out with the family and not far away.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A living museum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012 via mobile

So much fun to walk down the aisles and see history preserved, and to be able to shop at the same time. We were lucky to be there on a Saturday and to hear the blue grass music live!One of the best places we visited during our trip to North Carolina high country.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngsville, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Blast from the Past!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

A variety of merchandise and an atmosphere that takes you back in time...

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mast General Store also viewed

 
Valle Crucis, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Mast General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mast General Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mast General Store to your Saves list