We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best part of your trip.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taylor House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Taylor House Inn to your Saves list
Taylor House Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4584 NC Hwy 194 S, PO. Box 618 (Valle Crucis 28691), Valle Crucis, NC 28691   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Valle Crucis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Greenville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best part of your trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Everything about this inn was fantastic. Bernard and his family were extremely kind and courteous. Breakfast was some of the best I've ever had. One afternoon, they made lemon cake and invited everyone down to enjoy. Don't pass up this inn.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    35
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
27
156
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Our recent stay at the Taylor House Inn was excellent! Bernard greeted us when we arrived, and Tessa had warm banana bread waiting inside. The house was beautiful and well kept, and our room was quiet, cozy and very clean. We didn't hear a peep all night, and woke refreshed and renewed. Breakfast was delicious, and Bernard gave us plenty of ideas for places to hike. We spent entire day walking beautiful trails around the property... one took us to the top of Hunt Hill, with breathtaking views of the countryside, and another took us past 3 glorious waterfalls! A trip to the Mast Store made the end of the day complete. Even though we only had time to spend one night, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We had a wonderful time staying in this B&B. Tessa and Bernard were very helpful and wonderful hosts. The breakfasts each morning were delicious and homemade. The house itself is beautiful and the rooms were all very nicely decorated. This place if very quaint and cozy.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 1 (Aunt Sue's room). It was beautifully decorated and had wonderful light in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kannapolis, North Carolina
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Bernard and Tessa were wonderful. They were friendly and courteous. We were going to stay only one night but, we ended up staying three. We will definitely be returning for our next trip to the mountains. Thanks Bernard and Tessa.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Tidy, comfortable inn with beautiful country views-- an oasis from city life. Tessa and Bernard's breakfasts are two-course, beautiful meals. They will adjust the breakfast according to dietary needs.

Very romantic. We stayed in the suite at the top of the house, and indulged in fabulous sloth (reading and dozing) in the front parlor.

Enjoy the nearby towns of Banner Elk, Blowing Rock, and Boone.

Room Tip: There are two little cottages in addition to the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Taylor House Inn immensely. Tessa anticpated all our questions as she showed us to our room (which was upgraded at arrival!) and made sure we had everything we needed. She was so friendly and informative, but never overbearing or intrusive. The smell of the real christmas tree in the living room, the cozy atmosphere, and the pastry spread that awaited us all combined for an enchanting effect! We had a very comfortable sleep, and an amazing breakfast the next morning. At breakfast we also met Bernard, who is just as charming as Tessa! We will definitely return to their beautiful inn next time we are in Boone.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We really enjoyed our three night stay at the Taylor House Inn. We were in the area visiting family and wanted to stay out of town and away from busy traffic. The Inn is located in a guiet area not far from the Mast General Store in Valle Crucis. We had a very nice room on the second floor. The hosts were wonderful and helpful. Although the directions from Boone might sound a little bit complicated, it turns out to be very easy. Some GPSs might be confused with the address. Just take 421 to 194 and follow it to the Inn. Just keep your eyes open for the highway signs so you don't miss one.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Taylor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taylor House Inn

Address: 4584 NC Hwy 194 S, PO. Box 618 (Valle Crucis 28691), Valle Crucis, NC 28691
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Valle Crucis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Valle Crucis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Taylor House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taylor House Inn is a Bed & Breakfast and is also known for offering romantic getaways, hosting fabulous family reunions, corporate retreats and some of the best weddings in Valle Crucis. With the majestic surrounding valley scene, it is the perfect place to spend some quality time as well as to host an outdoor event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Taylor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taylor House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.