We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, very clean just outside of Boone, North Carolina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taylor House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Taylor House Inn to your Saves list
Taylor House Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4584 NC Hwy 194 S, PO. Box 618 (Valle Crucis 28691), Valle Crucis, NC 28691   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Valle Crucis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
McCalla, AL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, very clean just outside of Boone, North Carolina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This bed and breakfast was recommended to us by an owner of a B & B in Indiana. It was lovely and very clean. (Cleanliness is important to me!) The house is gorgeous! It is located in a beautiful community. The home was not decorated with my choice of pictures, etc., however I'm sure it is appealing to the owners. The room and bathroom were spacious. The mini refrigerator was convenient. The beautiful tub and shower was great...with wonderful water pressure. The large windows in our room allowed for a cool breeze overnight. We awakened to birds singing.....oh how sweet! Bernard was very friendly and greeted us warmly. There was a death in a neighbor's family just before we arrived. It was refreshing to observe neighbors reaching out to neighbors in their time of sorrow as the owners did. They walked to the neighbors home....a real feeling of community which I long for. I wish we could have stayed a few more days to relax and enjoy the surrounding calmness.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a beautiful, bright room but I do not remember the name of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    35
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
27
156
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dobson, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I reserved The Flower Cottage for an overnight stay on our anniversary. When we arrived, we were offered a free upgrade to Aunt Nancy's Room. What a wonderful surprise!! The room was much more spacious than the cottage. Everything was very clean and well taken care of. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was one of the most wonderful, quiet, romantic, relaxing vacations I have ever been on. We stayed two nights at the Taylor House Inn and our room was upgraded to the main house when we arrived which was a nice surprise as well as fresh baked cranberry/apricot loaf bread! Delicious! Tessa is a wonderful cook and our complementary breakfasts were amazing! Also, the bed was more comfortable then my own at home. I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, TN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We visited the Taylor House Inn to celebrate my wife's birthday and our anniversary. At check-in, Bernard graciously offered a room upgrade for no extra cost, a very warm welcome. He showed us to our room and gave us information about places to eat dinner. We decided to eat dinner at the Mast Farm Inn just down the road - highly recommend. We were only able to stay one night but we thoroughly enjoyed every minute. It's a beautiful place inside and out and we felt right at home. We plan to return in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We spent the weekend of March 1st to celebrate our marriage anniversary and we couldn't choose better. The place is beautiful, full of personality. Tessa and Bernard are perfect hosts, providing all we need to feel at home. The breakfast is delicious and sophisticated. In the living room, there's a sign saying: "enter as strangers, leave as friends" and I wouldn't describe better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Taylor House Inn. The owners are wonderful, made restaurant recommendations, and even placed our reservation at nearby Simplicity. The B&B itself is charming and well appointed. The breakfast was delicious. We truly felt at home. If we revisit the area, this would be our first choice for lodging.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night at The Taylor House Inn recently. I wish we could have stayed longer as this B&B is a wonderful place. Upon arrival, we were promptly upgraded to the honeymoon suite since the room we reserved would have meant walking through wet grass after a recent rainstorm. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate are always available and a freshly baked cake happen to be ready soon after we arrived.

Our room was up two flights of stairs, but very nice once we arrived. There was a king bed, sitting area with two couches, private bath and private balcony. Everything was clean and orderly. The honeymoon suite is particularly quiet since it is on its own floor.

The two-course breakfast had a European flair and was very tasty. The Innkeepers proactively asked about any diet restrictions and were more than happy to accomodate personal tastes.

The Inn's location is rural, so we had to drive at least 10 minutes for dinner, but the serenity of the surrounding mountains is hard to beat. We look forward to staying at The Taylor House Inn again next time we are in the Boone/Blowing Rock area!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taylor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taylor House Inn

Address: 4584 NC Hwy 194 S, PO. Box 618 (Valle Crucis 28691), Valle Crucis, NC 28691
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Valle Crucis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Valle Crucis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Taylor House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taylor House Inn is a Bed & Breakfast and is also known for offering romantic getaways, hosting fabulous family reunions, corporate retreats and some of the best weddings in Valle Crucis. With the majestic surrounding valley scene, it is the perfect place to spend some quality time as well as to host an outdoor event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Taylor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taylor House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.