We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What would we do without this place?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of OpenRoad Coffee

OpenRoad Coffee
915 W Mills St, Tryon, NC 28722
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Tryon
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Monterey, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“What would we do without this place?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

A first-rate coffee shop. Fun atmosphere and a great selection or drinks and baked goods. A community gathering spot. This sleepy county was in need of a great-quality place like Openroad. We are SO lucky to have such a quality establishment in our rural area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Coffee and....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Great mid-day stop. Coffee and... Brownie or scone or carrot cake or whatever else is in the pastry case. Comfortable, affordable and convenient location. All that and nice people too. Who could ask for more?

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landrum, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This shop is a true, artisanal coffee community.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

As a Polk County native and an avid coffee lover, for years I have dreamed of having a quality coffee shop in our small town. I used to have to travel to Asheville, NC on the weekends to find a tasty, organic, fair trade coffee. Now it's right down the road from my office, so I get to enjoy it several times a week! The owners and staff are outstanding! The shop fosters a true sense of community... it's nice to be able to stop in where "everybody knows your name" and enjoy some conversation around a good cup of coffee (or tea). The pastries are wonderful too. Everything is hand-crafted, artisanal and quality. You could not ask for more!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryon, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Everybody's favorite coffee spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The owners are very friendly and prepare great coffee drinks. It is a comfortable space to hang out and have good conversation. There is a lovely deck area where you can enjoy your book with you dog at your feet. The baked goods are excellent

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryon, North Carolina
1 review
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

As somebody who has had coffee from many regions of the world, I can say this little nook in Tryon is comparable to only the best! Fresh and full bodied. I also enjoy their unique flavoured drinks (many of them are sweetened naturally) no artificial sweeteners or preservatives are added to any of there delicious baked goods as well. There is something for everyone, even non-coffee consumers. Check it out!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OpenRoad Coffee also viewed

Tryon, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Tryon, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Tryon, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Tryon, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to OpenRoad Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage OpenRoad Coffee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.