We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1906 Pine Crest Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added 1906 Pine Crest Inn to your Saves list
1906 Pine Crest Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   85 Pine Crest Lane, Tryon, NC 28782   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Tryon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed here many times since the early 1990's. It's NOT a Marriott or Ritz Carlton. They lack Charm! You don't go to the Pine Crest Inn do do stuff, you go there to embrace a time of simple elegance. The grounds are beautifully maintained. The rooms are comfortable and recently updated. Water and sodas in the refridgerator in our room was appreciated.

Sadly we did not have dinner this trip on the property. But the chef Alec Eman recently arrived from France and we met his during breakfast. OMG can he cook and omelette. BTW, the French don't have a word for omelette do they? (joke). I had an egg white omelette with vegetables inside. It was crepe thin and he rolled it up. Beautiful. My wife had a regular omelette with all the goodies. He showed talent even on just eggs. He did his own granola house made with local fruits. The coffee served was NOT you standard fare either. So many places use Royal Cup or Starbucks. This was a local (Greenville, Sc) roaster, full bodied, complex,coffee.

Next trip we will have dinner at the inn. I reviewed the wine list and it's quite extensive and reasonably priced wines so if your a foodie you'd understand theynhave some 2007 Kistler (a single,vineyard) for about $120 a bottle. That's CHEAP for a wine of that pedigree.

Great staff, charming inn......

They also have a few dog friendly rooms....I saw some bees so there has to be honey there sometime soon too

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    25
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
20
76
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I had spent weekends here in the past when this Inn was in its prime....wow how times have changed. The rooms need to be updated and it just seemed like the Inn was struggling. I hope this place will recover at some point to what it was based on my past times there..

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

The 1906 Pine Crest Inn is a small lovely property located within walking distance of Tryon. The main lodge is surrounded by multiple guest cabins. The locale is peaceful and the inn and rooms are all very tastefully appointed. The staff is very friendly, and we had excellent meals in the restaurant. The only caution would be that if you're renting a room in one of the cabins, you may want to make sure if the rest of the cabin is occupied. Noise from the adjacent room may be a problem. That said, my husband and I are definitely coming back. For history buffs, Ernest Hemingway and F. Scott Fitzgerald were both guest of the inn in its early days.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Wraparound porch with plenty of comfortable seats, surrounded by bushes & flowers & trees (and a lazy cat sunning herself on the driveway!). Narrow rickety staircase up to our room (Black Oak), but inside was beautiful. Comfy bed and the softest towels EVER. Dinner was a little disappointing, but breakfast was delicious. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

This quaint inn, nestled away in horse country in Tryon, NC, offers guests exceptionally comfortable lodging and superb dining! I have stayed there twice and have been treated like royalty both times! The room was very comfortable and the meals were exquisite! The omelet at breakfast was superb! The service at dinner and breakfast was exceptional! The warm fireplace was a nice touch on a cold December night!

Room Tip: Ask for a fireplace. All are a short walk from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I cannot recommend this wonderful inn highly enough! Its setting is beautiful, with separate cabins, etc. that are a combination of rustic and elegant, and very comfortable. My cabin had a gas fireplace, making it all the more cozy. I only had breakfast there but the food was delicious, original, and beautifully presented. The staff was friendly. I thoroughly enjoyed my 2 nights at this inn. It would be a great place for a wedding party, or just a private getaway.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Can't say enough great things about the ambiance, the service, the food, the staff!
A dream get-away! Carl Sandburg's home nearby is a history-and-literature buff's dream attraction, and the shopping in the village of Tryon will keep you occupied for quite some time....

Room Tip: I stayed in the Oak Cottage.... there are 4 rooms to choose from in that building. Lots of other op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1906 Pine Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1906 Pine Crest Inn

Address: 85 Pine Crest Lane, Tryon, NC 28782
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Tryon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tryon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1906 Pine Crest Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a relaxing, intimate retreat tucked just a mile from downtown Tryon. Once a favorite of F. Scott Fitzgerald & Ernest Hemingway, the inn is listed on the National Register of Historic Places & has received numerous national awards & recognition. The restaurant is renowned for its excellent foothills cuisine featuring fresh, seasonal ingredients & has received the Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence. The inn has luxurious suites & private cottages, all with private baths; most have fireplaces & jetted tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your 1906 Pine Crest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1906 Pine Crest Hotel Tryon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1906 Pine Crest Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.