We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arigato? I don't think so!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kyoto Japanese Steakhouse - CLOSED

Kyoto Japanese Steakhouse
112 North Trade Streed, Tryon, NC 28782-3080
+1 828-859-9043
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $18
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: Originally opened in 2004 by Larry and his wife Chanpheng. Head chef Noy and her family purchased the establisment in 2011.
Tryon, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Arigato? I don't think so!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I would love to say kind things, but I can't think of any kind things to say. The steak is a cut up piece of dried mush. I never had such bad food anywhere and I was really disappointed here. Nice service, good people, but the cook was having a real bad night. I was there near the end of the night so maybe they were in a hurry to get out of there or something. It's too bad!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Spring rolls ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Wonderful friendlyservice, fresh food, very reasonably priced./ Nice Spring rolls
cooked perfectly and not greasy/ Highly recommended by my wife and I/ Sorry I took so
long to write this review/ I thought I had done so earlier but I guesss i forgot to do so/
Returning to Tryon for a vacation next Spring and I will definitely go back.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A real gem in Tryon.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We were a party of 15 that needed a place that could accomodate a crowd for dinner. Kyoto welcomed us into their lower dining room where we all enjoyed their exceptional Thai and Japanese cuisine. The server was outstanding and remarkably stayed on top of everyone's orders and kept our glasses filled during the two hours we were there. Food was fresh and well prepared and prices very reasonable. Give this place a try for something different and well executed.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campobello
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Quick Asian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

A great little quick Asian dining establishment. Reasonable prices (no hibachi showing off style of cooking here).

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kyoto Japanese Steakhouse also viewed

Tryon, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Tryon, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Tryon, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Tryon, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kyoto Japanese Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.