We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Southern Barbecue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Randy's BBQ

Randy's BBQ
103 N Main Street, Troutman, NC 28166 (Formerly Randys Barbeque)
704-528-2300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Troutman
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Southern Barbecue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Check it out-a little after off the interstate but worth it. Wrote a large review about the restaurant. Check it out!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Barbecue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We was on the interstate and wanted to eat somewhere that the locals would eat vs. the same old same old chain restaurants. We took a chance and found ourselves in a very nice little town called Troutman"s @ Randy. We was seated quickly and we told the waitress it was our first time there and she was very helpful with the menu and specials. There was plenty of people working and I saw several cleaning. This place in spotless inside and out. The food was great southern barbecue and you got to pick between vinegar or mayonnaise coleslaw. I wanted to try the barbecue beans before eating and the waitress was quick to bring a sample. There was large portions of food but I must say we didn't need a dogie bag because we both ate the whole thing. Randy the owner came by twice to think us for coming to visit the restaurant. Marked as a favorite on my navigator and the next time I am leaving the Va hills I will do my best to make this a stopover if going south. A+++++ Check out the pictures I posted :-) Would be fun for a birthday party or a something different from the same old steak dinner for Valentines, etc.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yummy BBQ and onion rings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Randy's BBQ is right in the middle of Troutman, NC. It offers daily specials including BBQ chicken, pork, spaghetti and also baby flounder. My favorite is the BBQ sandwich with freshly fried onion rings. Service is great as well as the food. Dessert includes home made banana pudding.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, NC USA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good Small Town BBQ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Our first visit to Randy's was a pleasant experience. Very attentive service, excellent hush puppies and pork rinds delivered to your table or booth.

The ribs were smoked and had a good sauce, but weren't overly meaty. The pork platter was good and was a generous portion.

Good atmosphere and slightly above average food. Troutman should be proud of Randy's.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamison, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This place is 100%”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Friendly, clean, courteous , good wholesome food. Randy, and yes he is there 100% of the time, doesn't leave a stone unturned. This is a Don't Miss when we have Friends from Out of Town

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Randy's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Randy's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Randy's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.