We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holy hushpuppies!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breezeway Restaurant

Breezeway Restaurant
634 Channel Boulevard, Topsail Beach, Topsail Island, NC 28445
9103284302
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Breezeway Restaurant at Topsail Island situated on picturesque Topsail Sound, this casual seafood family restaurant provides waterfront dining at its very best. Conveniently located 6.2 miles south of Surf City stoplight The Breezeway sits right at the waters edge. The Cherry Family invite you to join them for delicious seafood, hushpuppies and a spectacular view of the Topsail Sound.
High Point, North Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Holy hushpuppies!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is expensive, but the hushpuppies are totally worth it!! The shrimp are huge and fresh. I also had crab legs, which were cooked perfectly. A must visit restaurant if you are on the island!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    62
    36
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Last Visit and Last time I review it!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have gone to the Breezeway every year at least once since we have visited Topsail. Well over 20 years. Worse every year for the past 4 or so. This year we went on a Monday all you can eat crab leg night. Only my son had crab legs, My husband and I had mixed seafood platters. It was busy but not crazy yet we couldn't get water refills, more crab legs, any hushpuppies ( she kept telling us they were making more). The fried seafood was soggy, the beer kind of warm and the service was disorganized and chaotic. I think we are done.They are surviving on repeat customers who seem to be content with mediocre, an old reputation and lack of options in Topsail Beach. Go to the Beach Grill or trek up to Surf City to Sears Landing or Mainsail. Breezeway was a waste of money and a lousy meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saxapahaw, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Hushpuppies, Fake Fish”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The hushpuppies were really sweet and very good. The seafood was from US Foods or Sysco and nothing special. Prices were too elevated for what it was. You can do better by far within a couple of blocks from here.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Drinks, apps and view!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have gone to the Breezeway very sporadically through the last several years and the view keeps us coming back but the food quality not so great. I recommend their awesome clam chowder and hushpuppies but entre's are too pricey for the quality and quanity. When we decided to give it another try we went on a very slow Saturday night (first clue) and the only thing that we enjoyed was the hush puppies and chowder. The fried food tasted like it was under a heat lamp and piled on top of 10 cold french fries. The cole slaw was horrible. Don't know who is in charge of that recipe but it needs some help. We will be back but not for the pricey meals, just for apps and drinks. The decor is still set in the 1960's but it is clean and a lovely place to see the sunset. Very slow service for a slow night and tables around us were complaining and sending items back so it was not just us.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Loved the crab!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had dinner here twice, it was that good.
Food: We focused on the crab. Started with the fried soft shells, the she-crab soup next and ended by many orders of the boiled crab legs. The portions are large, the food fresh and very tasty. They The best dish was the boiled crab legs, everything was great.
Ambiance: A bit on the touristy side, but a large restaurant. expect a short wait time, 15-30 minutes at dinner, but the tables turn over fast. Great for families and large groups.
Service: Our first night was fantastic, thank you Zack, he was efficient, thoughtful and made sure that he was around every time we needed something. The second dinner was not so good, average at best.
Overall, a great restaurant, one we will go back to again on our next trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breezeway Restaurant also viewed

Topsail Beach, Topsail Island
Topsail Beach, Topsail Island
 
North Topsail Beach, Topsail Island
 

Been to Breezeway Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breezeway Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.