We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well, the view is nice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Breezeway Restaurant

Breezeway Restaurant
634 Channel Boulevard, Topsail Beach, Topsail Island, NC 28445
9103284302
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Breezeway Restaurant at Topsail Island situated on picturesque Topsail Sound, this casual seafood family restaurant provides waterfront dining at its very best. Conveniently located 6.2 miles south of Surf City stoplight The Breezeway sits right at the waters edge. The Cherry Family invite you to join them for delicious seafood, hushpuppies and a spectacular view of the Topsail Sound.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Well, the view is nice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011 via mobile

Casual, rough around the edges family diner-grade restaurant of the type found in rural corners around the country. Food is almost all fried to the that point that I doubt any of it is truly "local." The hush puppies are, however, truly exceptional (borderline doughnuts), and the view of the sound very pleasant. If you are looking for dinner on this end of Topsail, perfectly okay place for a bit if your expectations are properly set. I suggest you go for all you can eat crab legs on Monday nights since all the food looks frozen (and most prepped in the deep fryer) anyway.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    61
    36
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, VA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Poor food, noisy atmosphere, slow service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We had dinner there and didn't really enjoy it. It was very noisy and the service was not too fast. The seafood lasagna, which they said was one of their specialties, was tasteless and had only a few shrimp - no crabmeat. Also, it didn't have any tomatoes or veggies, just white pasta and lots of goopy cheese. The prices were high for the quality of food as well.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Breezeway is a comfortable family restaurant with very good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

In direct contrast with a disappointing experience at another of Topsail's restaurants, the Breezeway was a delightful "eat." To provide some brief background, I represent a party of eleven adults with one baby (high-chair) who vacationed together in Topsail this past July. We managed to eat at several restaurants that, in my opinion, ranged from "terrible" to "excellent" experiences while there. Basically, we found ourselves settling for adequate food since family style settings was our priority when traveling with the baby. However, the Breezeway was the one restaurant we felt gave us both the quality of food the highbrows in our party desired, as well as the comfortable setting required to keep a high-chaired baby contained and happy, thus allowing his parents to enjoy their meal. Tables and chairs were spaced well apart so as not to cramp guests. Even though the dining hall is large, there is something about this place that instantly made us feel cozy and very comfortable. We even found other patrons relaxed enough to engage in friendly discourse with us. We arrived rather late for dinner, but the owner and waitress were very friendly and made us feel very welcomed. Our waitress was very attentive throughout our meal. The food was very good, primarily seafood, but they were able to satisfy the two vegetarians in our party as well. To sum, the Breezeway is an excellent family restaurant with spacious seating. The seating allows parents of children to enjoy their meal and patrons without children can thoroughly enjoy each other's company, as well. The service is excellent and the food is very good. We were greatly disappointed to find that the Breezeway was not available for breakfast. We would have been right back the next morning!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“don't judge a book by it's cover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

When we first pulled into the parking lot last year I was not expecting much, the restaurant is right next door to the Breezeway Motel & the outside is not impressive. Well I was pleasantly surprised to see the great views of the bay from the inside through the three walls of windows. Great sunset views! The food is great here, we ended up returning for lunch in the same week. We love their hush puppies & crab dip! They do have a kids menu, my kids always go for the cheeseburger, which is very good! The servers are always friendly & very efficient! It's on our "must go to" vacation restaurant list. This is our 2nd year back to this restaurant and it was great!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Liverpool, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

The service was a little on the slow side but the food was very good. It was well prepared and delicious. The view from the dining area is lovely. We will go back again.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breezeway Restaurant also viewed

Topsail Beach, Topsail Island
Topsail Beach, Topsail Island
 
Surf City, Topsail Island
 

Been to Breezeway Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breezeway Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.