We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Putt-putt Time Travel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Patio Playground

Patio Playground
807 S. Anderson Blvd., Topsail Beach, Topsail Island, NC 28445
910-616-2814
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
“Putt-putt Time Travel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

We visited on a cool cloudy Sunday in late March. I was glad the course was open so early in the season as I am a fan of classic putt-putt courses, designed with a minimum of glitz and with true putting surfaces that provide a challenge and reward skill. The course at the Patio Playground met these standards. Unfortunately, it has become too rare to find a course like this one.
I had a black-and-white shake while I was there. Making such a shake properly requires particular skill as there must be just enough chocolate syrup to balance the vanilla ice cream and must be thick but not too thick to drink with a straw. It was excellent and would be a reason to visit even if golf were not an attraction.
While I was there some local teens stopped by to visit with the owner. This reinforced the small town, old time feel of the place. I was watching to see if Beaver came by next but he didn't show.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boone, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So much fun!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

There are not a lot of things to do at the beach at night, so my friends and I were so happy to find Patio Playground. You are never too old for mini-golf and delicious ice cream. It is right across from the ocean so there is a wonderful breeze, and it is a great atmosphere. Looking forward to going back in the summer when the DJ is there!

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great family fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

When you aren't at the beach, this is the place to be! One of the nicest arcades I've seen, the BEST ice cream, mini-golf and a live DJ Wednesday-Friday in the summer! Love Patio!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great old-fashioned fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

There's a mood at Patio Playground that can't be found much anymore. It's playful, good-old-fashioned fun. You can feel it, see it, hear it, and then capture it and take it back with you from where you came...to remember fondly from time to time.

This a place where you can build long-lasting memories and community.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Old fashioned but that's why it's so great!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

You kind of feel like you are stepping back in time at this golf course and that's it's charm! Just a simple, fun atmosphere...great thing to do with family and have an ice cream after the game. Please don't change Patio Playground - we love you just the way you are!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patio Playground also viewed

Topsail Beach, Topsail Island
Topsail Beach, Topsail Island
 
Surf City, Topsail Island
Topsail Beach, Topsail Island
 

Been to Patio Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patio Playground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.