We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nc wine country royalty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McRitchie Winery and Ciderworks

McRitchie Winery and Ciderworks
315 Thurmond P O Rd., Thurmond, NC 28683
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Attractions in Thurmond
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nc wine country royalty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Hmmm where to start. We've been visiting McRitchie's winery for almost 7 years now. Sean and Patti are very welcoming. It is clear that Sean is a craftsman and Patti is a great spokesperson for what they wanted to accomplish in the Yadkin appellation. This family has been a huge influence on wine country in NC. Take time to research how involved the family is in our state. It is a great story in itself. The wine & the cider. Most of the vines here are so very young compared to other wine producing areas. Nonetheless, Sean's craftsmanship more than makes up for the youth of his vineyard. The merlot and the ring of fire blend are two of our favorites. Buy a bottle on line, or better yet, come and visit and try one for yourself. As far as the cider, I am almost speechless. By using the heirloom apples, Sean captures a piece of history that represents the region perfectly.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    9
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Cute tasting room with lots of local art displayed. Beautiful locally handcrafted tasting bar - we wanted to take it home! Their wines were very good, loved Ring of Fire. Also interesting ciders. Definitely worth the stop. Anna was our wine host and was very information. Turned out she was the daughter of the owners of Frog Holler Cabins, which was where we were staying.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“McRitchie Winery Tour .... Maybe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The McRitchie Winery and Ciderworks is in Wilkes County and one of many wineries in the area. The grounds are beautiful and the vineyard is rather young and not very mature by most standards in this area. The wine tasting is nice, but not spectacular. Recommend going to this winery if you have a few spare hours on a Sunday afternoon. Wine tasting is $7 and you get to keep a very nice wine glass. wines are average.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stop by for some personal treatment and good wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great personal service and attention to the guest's preferences while focusing on the uniqueness of their products. Especially enjoyed "Ring of Fire." It is worth the time to find this really nice boutique winery.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unhurried tasting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

An easy detour off the Blue Ridge Parkway. We could set our own pace trying all the wines and ciders. Having a choice of ciders made it fun for the non-wine-drinking member of our family. No hard sell, and the tasting comes with a glass.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McRitchie Winery and Ciderworks also viewed

Thurmond, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Ronda, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to McRitchie Winery and Ciderworks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McRitchie Winery and Ciderworks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.