We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Weekend Away, awesome packages and brilliant staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maropeng Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Maropeng Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R400 (just off the R563 Hekpoort), Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site 1751, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Lovely Weekend Away, awesome packages and brilliant staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Over the Valentines day weekend this year, I surprised my boyfriend with a weekend away to the Maropeng Boutique Hotel. We had such an amazing time. The food was great, the view spectacular and the staff did such an amazing job at making sure that we were well taken care of and comfortable. We have decided to go back again for our 4th year anniversary, its just too good to resist. The tours were a bonus too! Have definitely recommended it to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyrJohannesburg, Managing Director at Maropeng Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Kirsten

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to post a review of the Maropeng Hotel.

I am pleased you had a good experience over the Valentine's weekend and hope that you will return to our Hotel soon

Kind regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    21
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
42
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great Hotel, Great View, Good Food and Drink, and Exceptional Staff. We had a fabulous time at the Cradle of Humankind. Visited the Sterkfontein caves. I just can’t believe how I responded to the Votex meanwhile the whole thing is just standing still. It was hilarious

Room Tip: 110 Nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyrJohannesburg, Managing Director at Maropeng Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hi William

Many thanks for taking the time to review the Maropeng Hotel and your experience at the Visitor Centre and Sterkfontein Caves.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you 'home' again in the near future

Regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naivasha, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We arrived after a flight from Kenya around 9.30pm.
The check in was fast and friendly and although the kitchen was closed, we were given food from the room service menu-thank you.

The rooms are a delight with out the normal clutter of tea trays and kettles and tv's out in the open, but everything was neatly tucked away, the bed extremely comfortable.

The bathroom again neat with excellent soaps and shampoos.

What is winner with this hotel, is the complete silence as you switch off your light, and no artificial lights outside-peace. The views from the simple decking outside are brilliant, and you can literally "feel" the history around you, you must take time to understand the area.

What more to say..........great breakfast, one of the best steaks I have ever had at dinner, and a well stocked bar.
One would think I was on holiday, but this was a buisness trip and I stayed for two nights, it was midweek, so I do not know how full the hotel gets at the weekends.

Very recommended-Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyrJohannesburg, Managing Director at Maropeng Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hi Craig

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to complete your review of the Maropeng Boutique Hotel.

Your comments are very kind, and appreciated. Particularly, the fact that the Staff were able to prepare something for you to eat, on arrival.

I sincerely hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Maropeng in the future.

Kind regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Beautiful hotel with the most amazing views. Staff were friendly and attentive. It did take some time to get our reservation confirmed, but once we arrived all that was forgotten. Dinner was perfect, fast service and great ambiance. Perfect for a quick 1 night getaway from the city. Be sure to sit on your patio outside with some wine and watch the sunset.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Maropeng Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hi Martin

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to post your review of our Hotel on Trip Advisor

Your comments are appreciated, and I hope to welcome you back to Maropeng again soon

Kind regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Upon arrival at Maropeng Hotel- we got just what we expected. Good service and a beautiful room overlooking the the most gorgeous savanna.

The dinners where nothing to brag about, however the breakfasts where good.(Cant go wrong with breakfast I suppose).

Very tranquil place- surrounded by nothing!Perfect for a short romantic getaway!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Maropeng Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hi Virginia

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor.

Your comments are appreciated. If you would like to contact me personally to discuss the food, I would appreciate this feedback - tonyr@maropeng.co.za

We look forward to welcoming you back to Maropeng again, in the near future

Kind regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great service (unintrusive and affable), great food (different menu on each night), wonderfully comfortable (both bed and bathroom). All rooms come with semi-private view out onto Magaliesberg Mountains.

No criticisms about this place.

We took advantage of the package deal which included half board and a combined ticket to the Maropeng Centre and Sterkfontein Caves.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Maropeng Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments, they are truly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind regards

Tony Rubin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Last Year myself and partner stayed at the Maropeng Hotel for 1 night. This was a very nice stay and we would definitely go back. The service was fantastic.

The rooms are beautiful and specious, very clean and well decorated.
We had dinner and breakfast in the Restaurant and it was simply delicious.

The views from the rooms are stunning and the atmosphere is so peaceful.

Overall a lovely stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Maropeng Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thanks very much for your positive review of our Hotel.

Your comments assist us in supporting our Staff, to ensure Guest satisfaction.

Kind regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maropeng Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maropeng Boutique Hotel

Address: R400 (just off the R563 Hekpoort), Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site 1751, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maropeng Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Maropeng', is a Setswana word meaning 'returning to the place of origin' and this was kept in mind when the interiors of the hotel were designed.The four elemental forces of nature, earth, fire, water and ice that kick-started our planet some 3-billion years ago feature prominently in the overall look. The 24-bed boutique hotel is a five minute walk from South Africa's premier tourist attraction and 10 km (6 mi)from the Sterkfontein Caves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Maropeng Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maropeng Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.