We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy staff, very helpful and accomodating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maropeng Boutique Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Save
You added Maropeng Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R400 (just off the R563 Hekpoort), Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site 1751, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Happy staff, very helpful and accomodating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed 1 night, got there for sundowners, amazing views. We didn't like the location of the room and without hesitation we where moved to a room we preferred. Enjoyed some wine on our private patio with a view and took in the silence.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    29
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
9
49
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

My fiancé and I spent a lovely evening at Maropeng last weekend – the view from the bedroom really is fantastic! The setting and style of the hotel are superb – modern but still with an African flavour. The staff were super friendly and attentive, and helped us set up the Wi-Fi in our room (which is free).

We only have two points of concern:
1. There really aren’t any ‘pop in’ restaurants in the area, or even shops for that matter, so dining has to be done in the hotel restaurant. The food is good but not fantastic and you have to order the set menu that is a full 3 courses. We really would have liked an option to just order one light meal.
2. All the rooms are built on the edge of a hill for the view, but there is an unofficial pedestrian path that passes right in front of the rooms. We would suggest closing it off to maintain the privacy of the suites.

We had done the evolution tour at the Visitor Center before and really enjoyed it (but wouldn’t necessarily do it twice).

The fact that the hotel is less than an hour from Johannesburg and part of the Magalies Meander makes it the perfect weekend getaway.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We went for a weekend break with a voucher which gave us a double for 600 rand. At that price it was good value, though I wouldn't be keen to pay the rack rate of around 1,100 rand ppn.

The hotel is in a stunning location in the Cradle of Humankind, and is well designed so every room looks out over the veld through wall-to-ceiling windows. The rooms are very comfortable and modern with huge beds, nice linen and decent bathrooms and have little patios out the back to watch the sunset. There is free and fast wifi throughout.

The place was pretty busy - probably because of the voucher deal - which meant the restaurant was packed when we went for dinner. The food was good, the atmosphere was great and the staff were lovely.

Breakfast was the usual hotel buffet fare, with bubbly wine and loads of fruit juice options. It was a little overpriced, but we ate out on the deck and the view was amazing.

The only odd thing about the place is that it doesn't quite seem to know what it wants to be. It had the vague feel of a business hotel yet isn't near any business centre, and probably isn't quite luxurious or casual enough to pull off being a holiday hotel. The result is a pool and sun deck which feels a little too small and is slightly crammed in behind reception, reception staff who are matter-of-fact and frantic rather than personable and friendly, and rooms which are lovely but feel slightly too close together when there appears to be no shortage of space.

That said, we had a great weekend away and loved the setting. From the bedrooms, pool and restaurant you can see no other buildings - just fields, hills and a huge sky. It's only an hour or so from Joburg, the scenery is fantastic and the hotel is a relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed there this past weeked on a special deal (room rate R600) and for that price it was very good. I would however not pay the rack rate of R1,800 per night.

Staff at the hotel - all good, but they do look a bit shocked to see people and it is as they dont really know what is expected of them. You get the feeling the manager is on leave...

Food is not great, but do go to The Cradle restaurant. Search for it at www.thecradle.co.za
This place has a view to die for and I simply love it! Its about 15 minutes from Maropeng hotel.

Room Tip: Visit The Cradle restaurant.... best views in the whole area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

The comfort of a 4-star hotel in the tranquil peace of the African bush. The staff offer that typical African friendliness, the rooms are comfortable and the quietness is deafening.
My only complaint about this hotel is the menu versus the actual food - a tiramisu should at least have coffee in it and should not taste like packet caramel pudding - a 3-egg omelet should have 3 eggs in it and not be the size of a small pancake!

Room Tip: With only 24 rooms, they all offer the same view and comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

First of all, great views.

I stayed at this hotel over Christmas 2011 with my family. When I arrived the hotel was completely empty. Not a lot happening. Later more people arrived but the hotel retained its desolated feel. So excellent of you come to escape from city hectic. Not so suitable for a family with kids.
The low point was however the food. There is a chef with ambition that just doesn’t quite make it. For example, when ordering your meat medium it may arrive anywhere between raw and completely overcooked. Lots of fat used in a simple thing like an omelette and cakes for desert that should have spend 15 more minutes in the oven. Given the pricing of the hotel this was disappointing.

And the thing is… There is not a hole lot of choice to eat elsewhere given that the hotel is pretty much in the middle of nowhere.

The Maropeng visitor centre (very close, entrance included when staying at the hotel), Sterkfontein caves, Rhino and Lion Park where worth it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antwerp
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Stayed 1 night as part of a tour. Nice hotel. Friendly staff. Service with a smile. Good food. Nice room. Nice terrrace too, with a sign to watch out for snakes in the high grass, and within walking distance to the Cradle of Mankind visitor’s centre. A visit to this centre is certainly worthwhile.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maropeng Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maropeng Boutique Hotel

Address: R400 (just off the R563 Hekpoort), Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site 1751, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maropeng Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Maropeng', is a Setswana word meaning 'returning to the place of origin' and this was kept in mind when the interiors of the hotel were designed.The four elemental forces of nature, earth, fire, water and ice that kick-started our planet some 3-billion years ago feature prominently in the overall look. The 24-bed boutique hotel is a five minute walk from South Africa's premier tourist attraction and 10 km (6 mi)from the Sterkfontein Caves. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maropeng Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.